Ventana Sur: 244 Animation Productions from Latin America To Compete at 2nd Quirino Awards

244 animated works coming from Ibero-American countries will compete at the 2nd edition of the Quirino Awards – as was announced Wednesday at Buenos Aires’ Ventana Sur, in an event hosted by Animation! and the Quirino Awards.
The event will take place on April 5 and 6, in Tenerife, the capital of Spain’s Canary Islands.
60 productions come from Spain, 49 from Brazil, 34 from México, 27 from Argentina, 19 from Colombia and 14 from Chile and Portugal. Costa Rica, Dominican Republic and Peru each have four; Ecuador and Uruguay three; El Salvador, Paraguay and Venezuela two; and Bolivia one. Portugal, Mexico and Brazil are the countries with a most significant increase in nominations over last year’s numbers.
From that total, 18 are features, 96 short films, 42 student films, 39 commissioned films and 33 TV-series.
The 2nd Quirino Awards will also the presentation of the first ever Ibero-American Animation White Paper – an encyclopedia and updated tool made with the aim of better exploring the artistic and industry trends in the region, boosting the sector and promote new alliances. The writing of the White Paper is divided in two phases, with the first to be presented in Tenerife.
The White Paper’s key aim is to “make a comprehensive analysis of the Ibero-American animation industry, which is booming, with an increase in co-productions, though data from the whole sector is yet to be collected,” Quirino promoter José Luis Farias explained to Variety.
Industry lobbies such as Diboos, Egeda, Icex and  Welaw back the initiative, with further support being negotiated. Farias said the White Paper will be another step forward, encouraging cooperation and co-production among Ibero-American animation industries.
The inaugural Quirinos took place in April, where the event hosted a co-production forum and an animation conference. According to the organization, more than 300 animation professionals from 20 countries attended the event, and around 350 B2B co-production meetings were held.
The best feature award went to Carlos Carrera’s “Ana & Bruno” and best series went to “Tiniest Man in the World,” by Juan Pablo Zaramella, stop-motion master.
The Quirino awards are named after Argentine filmmaker Quirino Cristiani (1896-1984), who made the first animated feature in history, “The Apostle,” in 1917. Cristiani was also the first director to create animation exclusively using cardboard cut-outs.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Benjamin Wallfisch - scoring session, Abbey

    Composer Benjamin Wallfisch Signs With Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency

    Composer Benjamin Wallfisch has signed with the Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency (GSA) for worldwide representation, in partnership with London-based agency COOL Music Ltd. A top composer, whose scoring credits include “It Chapter Two,” Shazam!” Hellboy,” “Hidden Figures” and “Hostile Planet,” among others, Wallfisch has worked on over 75 feature films and is a member of the BAFTA [...]

  • The Moneychanger

    Toronto Film Review: ‘The Moneychanger’

    Uruguayan auteur Federico Veiroj (“The Apostate,” “Belmonte”) broadens his usual intimate dramatic scope to diminishing returns for his fifth feature, “The Moneychanger,” . Adapted from a novella by compatriot Juan Enrique Gruber, the period (mid-1950s to mid-1970s) tale centers on the eponymous character, an amoral currency exchanger, who winds up laundering some of the dirtiest [...]

  • Send Me to the Clouds

    Film Review: ‘Send Me to the Clouds’

    The social and economic pressures felt by China’s “leftover women” — referring to those older than 26 and unmarried — are examined in “Send Me to the Clouds,” a rewarding dramedy about a 30-ish journalist seeking financial reward and sexual fulfillment after being diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Bold by mainland standards for presenting a positive [...]

  • Jamie Bell Without Remorse

    Jamie Bell Joins Michael B. Jordan in 'Without Remorse' Adaptation (EXCLUSIVE)

    Jamie Bell is in final negotiations to join Michael B. Jordan in Paramount’s adaptation of the Tom Clancy novel “Without Remorse.” Stefano Sollima, who most recently helmed “Sicario: Day of the Soldado,” is directing from a script by “Sicaro” screenwriter Taylor Sheridan. As previously announced, Jordan is starring as operations officer John Clark, also known [...]

  • Elizabeth McGovern, Laura Carmichael, Jim Carter,

    'Downton Abbey' Movie Sequel? Producers Tease That They Have 'Some Ideas'

    “Downton Abbey” holds the record as the most-nominated international show at the Emmy Awards with 69 nominations and 15 wins — and now, it stands a chance to nab an Oscar. More than three years after the beloved series signed off the air following six critically-acclaimed seasons, “Downton Abbey” is making its big-screen debut. “It [...]

  • Todd Phillips Joaquin Phoenix Joker Movie

    What's Woker Than 'Joker'? Film Critics Made Everything Political at Fall Festivals

    “Is it just me, or is it getting crazier out there?” asks Joaquin Phoenix, playing a deranged incel version of the DC supervillain in “Joker,” the unconventional comic book movie that’s sucked up much of the air from the fall festival circuit. Like an aggro caricature of the “involuntary celibates” who troll message boards online, [...]

  • Running Against the Wind

    Young Africans' Dreams Are Focus of Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda Oscar Picks

    Films about young Africans trying to fulfill their dreams in the face of war, poverty, tradition and other forms of adversity have been submitted for Oscar consideration by three East African nations. The selections by Kenya, Ethiopia and Uganda to compete in the international feature film category reflect the relative youth of filmmaking in the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content