You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Film News Roundup: Sony Moves ‘Grudge’ Reboot Up Two Months

In today’s film news roundup, Sony moves “Grudge” into the “Toy Story 4” slot, “Who Will Write Our History” gets distribution and 60 companies from 15 countries will be making their AFM debut as market exhibitors.


Sony Pictures has moved “Grudge,” its reboot of the 2004 supernatural thriller “The Grudge,” forward to June 21 from Aug. 16.

The film stars Andrea Riseborough, Demián Bichir, John Cho, Lin Shaye and Jacki Weaver. The 2004 film was a remake of the 2002 Japanese film “Jun-On: The Grudge,” which centers on a curse created when someone dies in rage or sorrow.

“Grudge” is directed by Nicolas Pesce for Ghost House and Good Universe. Sam Raimi and Rob Tapert will produce for Ghost House with Nathan Kahane and Erin Westerman executive producing for Good Universe alongside Schuyler Weiss, Roy Lee, Doug Davison, John Middleton, and Andrew Pfeffer.

“Grudge” becomes the second title dated for June 21, joining Pixar-Disney’s “Toy Story 4.”


Abramorama has reached an agreement with Katahdin Productions and Playmount Productions for the U.S. and Canadian theatrical distribution of Roberta Grossman’s Holocaust documentary “Who Will Write Our History.”

The film, based on the book by the historian Samuel Kassow, centers on the clandestine effort by Polish Jews to document what went on inside the Warsaw Ghetto after the Nazis sealed 450,000 Jews in an area of 1.3 square miles. The film is written, produced and directed by Grossman and executive produced by Nancy Spielberg.

Abramorama will open the film in New York at the Quad Cinema on Jan. 18 and at multiple Laemmle theaters in Los Angeles on Feb. 1, followed by engagements around the country.

“Who Will Write Our History” had its world premiere in August at the San Francisco Jewish Film Festival where it
received the best documentary feature award.


The American Film Market has announced that at least 60 companies from 15 countries will be making their AFM debut as market exhibitors.

The new exhibitors include companies come from Australia, Canada, China, Finland, France, Hungary, Hong Kong, Japan, Mongolia, the Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, South Korea, the United Kingdom and United States.  The market will include more than 400 exhibitors from more than 40 countries and overall participants from more than 80 counties.

New exhibiting companies for this year includes Bona Film Group, Digital Content LLC, GloriaFX, Gravitas Ventures, Loco Films, Locus Corporation, Mandarin Motion Pictures Distribution Limited, Match Point, North of Two, Pink Parrot Media, Riki Group, Tangren Cultural Film Group, Vedado Communications, Viva Communications Inc., and Youku.


The Costume Designers Guild will honor Ruth E. Carter with the Career Achievement Award at the 21st CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) on Feb. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The Career Achievement Award recognizes leaders who have made a lasting impact on Costume Design. Past recipients include designers Joanna Johnston, Jeffrey Kurland, Ellen Mirojnick, Julie Weiss, April Ferry, Eduardo Castro, Judianna Makovsky, Colleen Atwood, Sandy Powell and Ann Roth.

She has garnered two Academy Award nominations for Best Costume Design for Spike Lee’s “Malcom X” and Steven Spielberg’s “Amistad” as well as an Emmy nomination in 2016 for the reboot of “Roots.” Carter is the first African-American to be nominated for an Academy Award in costume design.

She has worked in the industry for over three decades with over forty films credits including “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” “Selma,” “Black Panther” and “Marshall.”


Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Kung Fu Panda 3

    Universal's Beijing Resort to Partner With Alibaba on Digitization

    Amid fierce controversy about the leverage China has over U.S. entertainment firms with significant mainland operations, Universal Beijing Resort and Alibaba announced a strategic partnership Thursday to digitize the forthcoming theme park in China’s capital. Facial recognition and the use of big data will be the norm at the new resort, which will use an [...]

  • They Shall Not Grow Old restoration

    Peter Jackson Documentary 'They Shall Not Grow Old' Nabs Limited China Release

    The Peter Jackson produced and directed World War I documentary “They Shall Not Grow Old” will hit Chinese theaters on November 11. Though it will roll out nationwide, it will do so via the China’s National Arthouse Alliance, which has limited screens. The 2018 documentary puts together interviews with WWI veterans and more than 100-year-old [...]

  • Zombieland Double Tap

    'Zombieland: Double Tap' Hopes to Recapture Raunchy Zombie Magic, 10 Years Later

    Audiences may have a few questions about the sequel to 2009’s hit “Zombieland,” which opens Friday. Why did it take 10 years to make a second one, after the first grossed $102.4 million worldwide on a $23 million budget, making it the third-biggest zombie movie of all time (second-biggest if you don’t count “Hotel Transylvania,” [...]

  • AMC TheatresShop signs, Los Angeles, America

    AMC Theatres Accused of Firing VP Who Complained of Gender Pay Gap

    A former vice president at AMC Theatres filed a federal lawsuit on Wednesday, accusing the company of firing her after she complained that she was paid far less than her male peers. Tonya Mangels, who was vice president of product marketing, said that in March 2018 her supervisor inadvertently sent her a spreadsheet that included [...]

  • Sir Elton John poses for photographers

    Elton John Calls 'Lion King' Remake a 'Huge Disappointment'

    Elton John isn’t feeling the love for Disney’s latest live-action remake. In an interview with GQ U.K., the legendary musician criticized Disney’s remake of “The Lion King,” citing the film’s music as a “huge disappointment.” “The new version of The Lion King was a huge disappointment to me, because I believe they messed the music [...]

  • Fiddlin'

    Film Review: 'Fiddlin''

    Not many forms of music have “old-” actually built into their name as a prefix. So it’s a given that the practitioners of the 200-year-old genre known as “old-time music” will wear their antiquity proudly in “Fiddlin’,” a documentary set in and around the 80th annual Old Fiddler’s Convention in Galax, Va. What may not [...]

  • Jonah Hill attends the press conference

    Jonah Hill Passes on Role in 'The Batman'

    After being offered a role in “The Batman,” Jonah Hill has moved on from the project. Why exactly Hill is passing is currently unknown, and insiders tell Variety that when the news was initially reported, it was very early in the negotiations and that a deal was far from closing. The news comes after Zoe [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content