“I, Tonya” and “The Shape of Water” took home some of the top awards at the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards in Beverly Hills, Calif. Tuesday night.

Guillermo Del Toro and Kerry Washington were among those honored. The majority of nominees and honorees wore black to show support for the Time’s Up movement.

Del Toro was presented with the Distinguished Collaborator award; Washington received the Spotlight award.

When accepting his award, Del Toro described how he builds his characters. He revealed he creates four to eight-page biographies for each character. Referencing his Oscar-nominated film, “The Shape of Water,” Del Toro said that whether its a mute lead or a black best friend he wants to make sure they are “not eye candy, eye protein.”

After an emotional introduction from “Scandal” costume designer Lyn Paolo, Washington took the stage and thanked Paolo for creating Olivia Pope’s iconic style. Washington admitted that she was nervous when creator Shonda Rhimes said her character would not be pregnant on the show although Washington was expecting in real life. Washington described Paolo cutting holes into designer pants so that her character could still have her signature strut and look. The “Scandal” star also added that seeing a character’s wardrobe allows her to become the role. “I don’t really know what type of person a character is until I know what shoes she wears,” Washington said.

The ceremony was hosted by “Jane the Virgin” star Gina Rodriguez. She opened the award show with, “The history of design is the history of entertainment.” She praised Rachel Sage Kunin, the costume designer on her CW show, for creating clothes specifically for Rodriguez’s body type. She then showed a slide show of casual and theatrical looks her character has worn for four seasons.

Mark Hamill gave a speech to honor John Mollo, the Oscar award-winning costume designer behind the original “Star Wars” series and “Gandhi,” who was posthumously inducted into the Costume Designers Guild Hall of Fame.

Nominated in the excellence in contemporary film category were Nadine Haders for “Get Out,” Jennifer Johnson for “I, Tonya,” Arianne Phillips for “Kingsman: The Golden Circle,” April Napier, and Melissa Toth for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.” Johnson, for “I, Tonya,” was the winner.

Prior to winning the award, Johnson shared with Variety her inspiration behind her ‘I, Tonya,” designs. She said she wanted to “erase” what she thought she knew about Tonya Harding, which was difficult. “From there, I wanted to go deeper and figure out who was this person that we all thought we knew,” Johnson said. She added that she had to watch grainy YouTube videos and VHS tapes to recreate the skating uniforms.

Luis Sequeira won for “The Shape of Water” in the excellence in period film category, beating out Jeffrey Kurland for “Dunkirk,” Ellen Mirojnick for “The Greatest Showman,” Alexandra Byrne for “Murder on the Orient Express,” and Mark Bridges for “Phantom Thread.

Other winners from the evening were Ane Crabtree for excellence in contemporary television for her designs in “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Jane Petrie for excellence in period television for her work on “The Crown,” and Michele Clapton for excellence in sci-fi or fantasy television for her designs in “Game of Thrones.”

Full list of 2018 CDG award winners below (winners in bold).

Excellence in Contemporary Film
“Get Out” (Nadine Haders)
“I, Tonya” (Jennifer Johnson)
“Kingsman: The Golden Circle” (Arianne Phillips)
“Lady Bird” (April Napier)
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (Melissa Toth)

Excellence in Period Film
“Dunkirk” (Jeffrey Kurland)
“The Greatest Showman” (Ellen Mirojnick)
“Murder on the Orient Express” (Alexandra Byrne)
“Phantom Thread” (Mark Bridges)
“The Shape of Water” (Luis Sequeira)

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film
“Beauty and the Beast” (Jacqueline Durran)
“Blade Runner 2049” (Renée April)
“Star Wars: The Last Jedi” (Michael Kaplan)
“Thor: Ragnarok” (Mayes C. Rubeo)
“Wonder Woman” (Lindy Hemming)

Excellence in Contemporary Television
“American Horror Story: Cult” (Sarah Evelyn Bram)
“Big Little Lies” (Alix Friedberg)
“Grace and Frankie” (Allyson B. Fanger)
“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Ane Crabtree)
“The Young Pope” (Luca Canfora, Carlo Poggioli)

Excellence in Period Television
“The Crown” (Jane Petrie)
“Feud: Bette and Joan” (Lou Eyrich)
“Glow” (Beth Morgan)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Donna Zakowska)
“Stranger Things” (Kim Wilcox)

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
“Black Mirror: USS Callister” (Maja Meschede)
“Game of Thrones” (Michele Clapton)
“Once Upon a Time” (Eduardo Castro, Dan Lester)
“Sleepy Hollow” (Mairi Chisholm)
“Star Trek: Discovery” (Gersha Phillips)

Excellence in Short Form Design
“Assassin’s Creed” – “I Am,” Commercial (Patrik Milani)
Elton John featuring Marilyn Manson: “Tiny Dancer,” Music Video (Sara Sensoy, Dawn Ritz)
Katy Perry – “Chained to the Rhythm,” Music Video (B. Ăkerlund)
“Miu Miu Women’s Tales #14: The End of History Illusion,” Short Film (Mindy Le Brock)
P!NK – “Beautiful Trauma,” Music Video (Kim Bowen)

Career Achievement Award
Joanna Johnson

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Guillermo del Toro

Distinguished Service Award
Maggie Schpak

Lacoste Spotlight Award
Kerry Washington