You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Variety Artisan Awards to Honor Rachel Morrison, Alexandre Desplat and More at Santa Barbara Film Festival

Variety and the Santa Barbara International Film Festival have revealed the recipients of the fourth annual Variety Artisans Awards.

The Variety Artisans Awards are given to those essential to the filmmaking process who have exhibited the most exciting and innovative work of the year in their respective fields. A special tribute evening moderated by Tim Gray, Variety‘s awards editor and senior vice president, will take place on Feb. 5 at the Lobero Theatre.

This year’s award recipients, who are all Oscar nominees, include:

Paul D. Austerberry for the production design in Fox Searchlight’s “The Shape of Water,” directed by Guillermo del Toro. This marks Austerberry’s first Academy Award nomination. Austerberry won the Critics’ Choice Award and received a BAFTA nom for his work on the film.

Mark Bridges for costume design in Focus Features’ period drama “Phantom Thread,” written and directed by Paul Thomas Anderson. Bridges has been nominated for Academy Awards and previously won for “The Artist.” He has received the Critics’ Choice Award and is in the running for a BAFTA for his work on “Phantom Thread.”

Alexandre Desplat for original score for the “The Shape of Water.” Desplat previously won the Academy Award for “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” and has received a total of nine nominations throughout his career. His work on “The Shape of Water” has already been recognized with wins at both the Critics’ Choice and Golden Globe awards, and a nomination for the upcoming BAFTA ceremony.

Rachel Morrison for cinematography in the Netflix historical drama “Mudbound,” directed by Dee Rees. Morrison is the first female director of photography to receive an Oscar nomination. She won the New York Film Critics Circle Award for best cinematography and earned nominations from the Critics’ Choice Awards and American Society of Cinematographers for her work on the film.

John Nelson for visual effects in the Alcon Entertainment and Warner Bros. film “Blade Runner 2049,” directed by Denis Villeneuve. This is Nelson’s fourth Academy Award nomination; he previously won for “Gladiator.”

Tatiana S. Riegel for editing the Neon/30West film “I, Tonya,” directed by Craig Gillespie. This marks Riegel’s first Academy Award nomination. Her previous credits include “The Way Way Back,” “Lars and the Real Girl,” and “The Finest Hours.”

Julian Slater for sound mixing in the TriStar Pictures actioner “Baby Driver,” written and directed by Edgar Wright. He is a first-time Oscar nominee, receiving noms in both sound categories. The sound mixing nomination is shared with Mary H. Ellis and Tim Cavagin. Slater is also up for a BAFTA for his work on the film.

Arjen Tuiten for makeup and hairstyling in Lionsgate’s “Wonder,” directed by Stephen Chbosky. This marks Tuiten’s first Oscar nomination. He has also received a BAFTA nom for his work on the film. His previous credits include “Maleficent,” “Unbroken,” and “Pan’s Labyrinth.”

Matthew Wood for sound editing in the Disney/Lucasfilm tentpole “Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” directed by Rian Johnson. This is Wood’s fourth Academy Award nod. His previous credits include “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” “Wall-E,” and “There Will Be Blood.”

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival began on Jan. 31 and will continue until Feb. 10.

More Artisans

  • Woolsey Fire Malibu

    Many Malibu Areas Still Off-Limits for Filming After Fire

    The California Film Commission has maintained its ban on filming in several Malibu areas hit by the massive Woolsey fire in Southern California last month. The commission announced Tuesday that due to continued clean-up and repair work along Pacific Coast Highway, permits for filming on the highway are not being issued at this time. PCH [...]

  • RYAN GOSLING as Neil Armstrong in

    Big Breakthroughs Seen in Below-the-Line Categories

    Is 2018 an anomaly, or is it a harbinger of things to come? The awards derbies of recent years have seen a predominance of indie films at the expense of big studio features — resulting in a slate of Oscar contenders devoid not only of genuine blockbusters but also of more modest mid-budget crowd-pleasers. This [...]

  • Ryan Murphy - Outstanding Directing for

    Ryan Murphy to Be Honored by Costume Designers Guild

    The Costume Designers Guild has selected Ryan Murphy as the recipient of its distinguished collaborator award. The producer will be honored at the 21st Costume Designers Guild Awards on Feb. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. The distinguished collaborator award honors individuals who demonstrate “unwavering support” of costume design and creative partnerships with [...]

  • 'Captain Marvel' and 'Bird Box' receive

    ‘Captain Marvel’ and ‘Bird Box’ Score Multiple COLA Awards

    With the 2018-2019 awards season barely out of the gate, Marvel Studios’ “Captain Marvel” (pictured above), set for release in March, has already staked a claim in the 2019-2020 race by racking up a couple of trophies at the California On Location Awards. Additionally, Netflix’s “Bird Box,” in limited release and streaming starting Dec. 14, [...]

  • Visual Effects Studio Digital Domain to

    Visual Effects Studio Digital Domain to Open New Location Studio in Montreal

    Visual effects studio Digital Domain has announced the addition of its ninth location with the opening of a new shop in Montreal. The unit joins the eight existing Digital Domain offices in Los Angeles, Vancouver, Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen, Hong Kong, Taipei and Hyderabad. Digital Domain Montréal will open in the Plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood on March [...]

  • Aquaman 2018

    Morocco Lures Filmmakers With Geography, History and Incentives

    At the confluence of Berber, Arabian, and European cultural influences, the North African nation of Morocco boasts a long and sunny Atlantic coastline, the soaring and snowy peaks of the Atlas Mountains, and legendary cities such as Fez and Marrakesh that offer urban landscapes suggestive of eras ranging from Biblical times to the modern age [...]

  • Dynasties BBC

    Bristol Is Home to Production Companies Known for Global Wildlife Projects

    Bristol, two hours west of London and known by toon enthusiasts as the home of Aardman Animations, also happens to be the world center of wildlife filmmaking and home to the top producers, directors and camera pros creating the influx of natural history shows that continue to grow ever more popular on TV screens around [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content