Kevin Spacey, Jeffrey Tambor Shut Out of SAG Awards in Wake of Sexual Harassment Allegations

Neither Kevin Spacey nor Jeffrey Tambor secured a SAG Award nomination on Wednesday as both men deal with the fallout from sexual harassment allegations.

The actors have been perennial favorites at the annual awards show. Spacey previously won the award for outstanding performance by a male actor in a drama series for “House of Cards” in both 2015 and 2016 in addition to being nominated in 2014 and 2017. Tambor, the star of the Amazon series “Transparent,” won the award for outstanding performance by a male actor in a comedy series in 2016 and was nominated again in 2017.

Meanwhile, Robin Wright — Spacey’s co-star and onscreen wife in “House of Cards” — was nominated for outstanding performance by a female actor in a drama series.

Spacey has been accused of sexually harassing and assaulting multiple men, allegations that first surfaced after “Star Trek: Discovery” actor Anthony Rapp alleged that Spacey made sexual advances toward him when Rapp was just 14. Shortly thereafter, Spacey was suspended from production on Season 6 of “House of Cards.” Earlier this month, Netflix announced that Spacey will be written off of the show, and that Wright would take the lead in an eight-episode final season.

Tambor was accused of sexual harassment by his former personal assistant, a trans woman named Van Barnes, in a private Facebook post on Nov. 8. Later that month, guest star Trace Lysette came forward with further alleged instances of inappropriate behavior.

Tambor had previously said that he did not see how he could return to “Transparent” in light of the allegations, signalling to many that he was departing the series. However, a spokesperson for Tambor recently said that no final decision has been made regarding his future on the show.

Tambor and Spacey are just two of the high-profile entertainment industry stalwarts who have been embroiled in sexual harassment and assault controversies in recent months. They join an ever-growing list of men that includes Harvey Weinstein, Matt Lauer, Russell Simmons, Mario Batali, and Dustin Hoffman, to name just a few.

Popular on Variety

More TV

  • Breaking Bad Movie

    'Breaking Bad' Movie: Watch the First Teaser for 'El Camino'

    In case you hadn’t heard, Emmy-winning drama “Breaking Bad” is cooking up a movie sequel. On Saturday, after details of Netflix’s project quietly leaked online, the streaming giant issued the first teaser for “El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie,” which will be released on October 11. Starring Aaron Paul as Jesse Pinkman, the “Breaking Bad” [...]

  • Breaking Bad

    'Breaking Bad' Movie Release Date, Title and Plot Revealed

    The “Breaking Bad” movie is coming to Netflix sooner than you might think. The film, titled “El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie,” is now set to be released on Netflix on Oct. 11, according to a report from the New York Times, with Aaron Paul returning as the series’ popular meth cook Jesse Pinkman. Jesse [...]

  • Laurence FishburneNational Memorial Day Concert Dress

    Laurence Fishburne to Produce 'Marvel's Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur' Series for Disney Channel

    Laurence Fishburne is stepping into the animation game. The “Matrix” star is set to executive produce “Marvel’s Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur,” an animated series which has been given the greenlight at Disney Channel. Based on Marvel’s comic book series, the show hails from from Disney Television Animation and follows the adventures of 13-year-old super-genius [...]

  • Aracne

    Chile’s Sanfic, Mexico’s Morbido Fest Pact to Promote Latino Horror (EXCLUSIVE)

    Mexican horror festival Morbido and Chile’s Santiago Intl. Film Festival (Sanfic) have agreed on a long-term collaboration intended to strengthen the genre film industry in Chile and across Latin America. This partnership will see Morbido representatives attend the Sanfic industry section each year to aid in the promotion of horror projects and advise those projects [...]

  • 'The Simpsons' Producers on Disney, Spinoffs

    'The Simpsons' Producers Talk Potential Disney Spinoffs, Confirm Apu Will Remain

    “The Simpsons” has never shied away from lampooning Disney over the years, but maybe that’s no longer the case. Homer, Marge and co. are of course now part of the Disney family and made their first appearance at the Mouse House’s D23 Expo convention, where the show’s producers were asked plenty of questions about what [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content