Emmy Awards: Alec Baldwin, Nicole Kidman, Oprah Winfrey Set as Presenters

The Television Academy has announced the first batch of stars set to present trophies at the Primetime Emmy Awards, which will be held on September 17.

Oprah Winfrey, who’s nominated for her work as executive producer of HBO’s “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks,” will take the stage, as will Emmy nominees Alec Baldwin (“Saturday Night Live” and “Match Game”) and “Big Little Lies” stars Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon.

The star-studded list also includes actors set to appear in new fall series, including Debra Messing, who’s making a return in NBC’s “Will & Grace,” Edie Falco, who’ll be appearing in NBC’s “Law & Order True Crime: The Menendez Murders,” and Shemar Moore, set to star in CBS’s “S.W.A.T.”

Here’s the complete list of presenters announced by the Academy:

Riz Ahmed (“The Night Of,” “Girls”)
Anthony Anderson (“black-ish”)
Alec Baldwin (“Saturday Night Live,” “Match Game”)
Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
Jessica Biel (“The Sinner”)
Edie Falco (“Law & Order True Crime: The Menendez Murders”)
Anna Faris (“Mom”)
Allison Janney (“Mom”)
Rashida Jones (“Angie Tribeca”)
Nicole Kidman (“Big Little Lies”)
Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”)
Lea Michele (“The Mayor”)
Shemar Moore (“S.W.A.T.”)
Kumail Nanjiani (“Silicon Valley”)
Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”)
Tracee Ellis Ross (“black-ish”)
Adam Scott (“Ghosted,” “Big Little Lies”)
Oprah Winfrey (“The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”)
Reese Witherspoon (“Big Little Lies”)

This year’s Emmy Awards will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Sept. 17 at 8pm on CBS. “The Late Show’s” Stephen Colbert will serve as host.

The Primetime Emmys are being produced by White Cherry Entertainment. Glenn Weiss and Ricky Kirshner are executive producers, with Weiss serving as director. Chris Licht, the showrunner of “The Late Show,” will also produce.


More TV


    'The Orville' to Move From Fox to Hulu for Season 3

    Seth MacFarlane’s “The Orville” is on the move. MacFarlane announced Saturday at the show’s San Diego Comic-Con panel that Season 3 of the sci-fi series will air exclusively on Hulu rather than on Fox as it has for its first two seasons. According to an individual with knowledge of the situation, MacFarlane’s current workload and [...]

  • Westworld Season 3 Trailer

    Aaron Paul, Showrunners Unveil 'Westworld' Season 3 Trailer (Watch)

    Season 3 of “Westworld” is going to new worlds altogether. Unveiled during the show’s Comic-Con panel, the trailer teases Thandie Newton’s character Maeve entering a new world of hosts set during World War II. Meanwhile, in the human world, Dolores (Evan Rachel Wood) and her fellow hosts who escaped “Westworld” in season 2 are being [...]

  • Variety Cord Cutting Placeholder Cable

    Dish Faces Multiple Outages as Carriage Contracts Come Due

    Satellite-broadcaster Dish is known in the media industry as a hard bargainer when carriage contracts come up for renewal. HBO hasn’t been available on the service since November. Now, other TV networks face a similar prospect. Unless Dish and certain content suppliers reach new terms by Monday evening, subscribers who use several cable networks currently [...]

  • Patrick Stewart as Jean-Luc Picard of

    'Star Trek: Picard' to Feature Jonathan Frakes, Marina Sirtis, Brent Spiner, Jeri Ryan

    “Star Trek: Picard” is bringing back some familiar faces. During the show’s San Diego Comic-Con panel on Saturday, it was revealed that Brent Spiner, Jonathan Frakes, Marina Sirtis, and Jeri Ryan would reprising their roles from “Next Generation” and “Voyager” in Ryan’s case. Jonathan Del Arco will also appear, likely reprising his role as the [...]

  • The Simpsons Homer Live

    'The Simpsons' Will Finally Release Season 19 on DVD, Helping Out Purist Collectors

    “The Simpsons” DVD collectors who also happen to be obsessive-compulsive can rest a little easier: You’ll finally be able to fill in that missing Season 19. Executive producer Al Jean revealed on Saturday that 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment will finally release the 19th season of “The Simpsons” on DVD this December 3, two years [...]

  • Pictured: No'l Wells as Ensign Tendi;

    'Star Trek: Lower Decks' Sets Main Cast

    The upcoming animated series “Star Trek: Lower Decks” has announced its main voice cast. Tawny Newsome, Noël Wells, and Eugene Cordero will all star in the series. As Variety exclusively reported, Jack Quaid has also been cast as Ensign Brad Boimler. The Starfleet characters that comprise the ship’s bridge crew include Captain Carol Freeman, voiced by [...]

  • Jack Quaid

    'Star Trek: Lower Decks' Casts Jack Quaid (EXCLUSIVE)

    Jack Quaid has joined the voice cast of the upcoming animated series “Star Trek: Lower Decks” at CBS All Access, Variety has learned exclusively. As previously announced, the series will focus on the support crew serving on one of Starfleet’s least important ships. Quaid will voice the character of Ensign Brad Boimler. Described as a [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content