CBS has announced the eight writers selected to participate in the 2017-2018 Writers Mentoring Program. In its 14th year, the program provides mentorships, access and opportunity for up-and-coming writers.

The participants selected from a pool of 1,300 applicants are Ashley Charbonnet, Gil Hizon, Naomi Iwamoto, Munis Rashid, Jovan Robinson, April Shih, Shuo Zhang and Krystal Banzon. They make up a mix of comedy and drama writers.

The eight-month program will pair these aspiring scribes with an executive mentor who will help them develop a new piece of material. Following the mentorship period, the writers will then participate in a 16-week workshop designed to teach them about the television business, including providing access to industry professionals.

“The access and opportunities that writers receive in this program are instrumental in creating game changers in this industry,” said Tiffany Smith-Anoa’i, executive vice president of Entertainment Diversity and Inclusion and Communications at CBS Entertainment. “In its 14th year, we now have alumnae running shows and coming to us to help staff up their rooms. This program strives to lay the foundation for writers to not only staff, but also develop their professional skills that prepare them to one day run their own show.”

The Writers Mentoring Program has helped launch the careers of 62 writers who have gone on to work at “Dynasty,” “Star Trek: Discovery,” “Young Sheldon,” “NCIS” and “Grey’s Anatomy.”