You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Vietman War’ Writer Geoffrey C. Ward Honored by Writers Guild of America East

“The Vietman War” writer Geoffrey C. Ward has been selected by the Writers Guild of America East as the recipient of its  Ian McLellan Hunter award for career achievement.

The award will be presented at the 70th annual Writers Guild Awards, which will be held at New York’s Edison Ballroom on Feb. 11.

The Hunter Award was established in 1992 and is presented to a WGA East member in honor of his/her body of work as a writer in motion pictures or television. Hunter award recipients include Andrew Bergman, John Sayles, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, John Waters, Richard LaGravenese, John Patrick Shanley and Nora Ephron.

“I’m a lucky man to have been able to write so much serious history for television — and still luckier to have been given this great honor by the guild,” Ward said. “I couldn’t be more grateful.”

Ward has been a guild member since 1989 and written more than 150 hours of public television. He is best known for his work with the WGBH-TV series “American Experience” and as Ken Burns’ long-time collaborator. Burns will present Ward with the award.

Ward has won seven Emmy Awards, two Writers Guild awards and the Humanitas Prize. “The Vietnam War” has been nominated for a Writers Guild award for documentary script – other than current events.

Ward’s television credits include “Huey Long,” “The Civil War,” “Baseball,” “Unforgivable Blackness: The Rise and Fall of JackJohnson,” “Jazz,” “Prohibition,” “Nixon,” “The War” and “The Roosevelts.” He is teaming with Burns and Lynn Novick on a film series about Ernest Hemingway.

More TV

  • Chuck Lorre, Scott Stuber to Keynote

    Chuck Lorre, Scott Stuber to Keynote Variety Innovate Summit

    “The Big Bang Theory” co-creator and TV producer Chuck Lorre and the head of Netflix Films Scott Stuber will keynote Variety’s Innovate Summit presented by PwC on Dec. 5 in Los Angeles. Lorre will share the career experiences that lead to his co-creating and executive producing “The Big Bang Theory,” “Young Sheldon” and “Mom.” Lorre’s extensive [...]

  • Devesh Raj Replacing Carsten Schmidt as

    Devesh Raj Replacing Carsten Schmidt as Sky Deutschland CEO

    Devesh Raj will take the helm at Comcast-owned Sky Deutschland, replacing Carsten Schmidt, who has stepped down and will leave at year-end. Devesh joined Sky as COO last summer after Comcast took over the European pay-TV giant. Prior to Sky he was at Comcast in the U.S. for five years in a strategy role. Schmidt [...]

  • Cardi B

    Pepsi Enlists Cardi B for Its Own Version of Holiday Gift Giving

    Pepsi is known for its Super Bowl half time show and celebrity-laden commercials. Now it wants to burnish a reputation for holiday cheer. The soda-maker will help consumers give cash gifts to friend and family members through a digital scratch-off game that can be sparked via QR codes found across 12 packs of Pepsi, Diet [...]

  • Elizabeth Warren, Pete Buttigieg. Democratic presidential

    CNN Will Simulcast PBS Democratic Debate in December

    CNN said it will simulcast the Democratic debate slated to take place in December that is being hosted by PBS NewsHour and Politico, a move that will likely bring more attention and audience to the event. PBS plans to broadcast the debate December 19 from Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles. At this point in [...]

  • Peppa Pig

    U.K. Competition Watchdog to Examine Hasbro's $4 Billion Deal for Entertainment One

    Britain’s competition watchdog will investigate Hasbro’s $4 billion takeover of Entertainment One. The Competition and Markets Authority said Thursday that it would examine whether the intended acquisition of eOne would result in a “substantial lessening of competition” under U.K. rules. The CMA was deeply involved in scrutinizing the sale of Sky, which was ultimately bought [...]

  • Democratic presidential candidate South Bend, Ind.,

    MSNBC and Washington Post Air Strong, Substantial Democratic Debate (Column)

    The Democratic party primary debate in Atlanta ran long (by about 20 minutes) and had a crowded stage of 10 candidates — and yet, relatively speaking, flew by efficiently. After a passel of debates that had been wildly oversubscribed and caught fire more for personality conflict than policy difference, the MSNBC and Washington Post debate [...]

  • Subhash Chandra Chairman of the Zee

    Another 16% Slice of India’s Zee to be Sold by Essel

    The Essel Group is to sell a further 16.5% stake in Zee Entertainment Enterprise Limited, India’s largest private sector broadcast group. The debt-reduction move comes just months after Essel auctioned off an 11% tranche of ZEEL. “The Group seeks to sell up to 16.5% stake in ZEEL to financial investors, in order to repay loan [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content