Pink Releases Title Track to New Album, ‘Beautiful Trauma’

PinkMTV Video Music Awards, Show, Los Angeles, USA - 27 Aug 2017
Chelsea Lauren/REX/Shutterstock

This morning Pink dropped “Beautiful Trauma,” the second track from her forthcoming seventh studio album of the same name. The song was written by the singer with the ubiquitous Jack Antonoff — the Bleachers frontman who’s also collaborated extensively with Lorde and Taylor Swift on music released this year. The song includes a few of his signature idiosyncratic melodic touches, but the spirit and sense of uplift in the song are all hers — and of course it includes a typically stellar vocal performance.

In a pair of tweets in the wee hours of Thursday the singer said she’d given the album and song that title because “life is f*cking traumatic. But it’s also incredibly beautiful, too. There’s a lot of beauty still and beautiful souls. Enjoy [smley emoji].” Preach, sister.

The album, due on Oct. 13, is her first in more than five years. Along with Antonoff and Snow Patrol’s Johnny McDaid and Steve Mac (who worked with her on the album’s first single, “What About Us”), collaborators include Max Martin, Shellback, Julia Michaels and Greg Kurstin, among others (full track list below).

The singer, who received the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the 2017 Video Music Awards in August, will perform as the musical guest on “Saturday Night Live” October 14, the day after the album’s release. She performed at the iHeartRadio Music Festival in Las Vegas last weekend and is set to perform at the Hollywood Bowl October 21.

While the singer has released a handful of singles and collaborations (including an appearance on Kenny Chesney’s “Setting The World on Fire,” which was nominated for a 2017 Best Country Duo/Group Grammy), she’s largely kept a low profile since she came off cycle for 2012’s double-platinum “The Truth About Love.” She and husband Carey Hart welcome their second child, son Jameson Moon, in December of last year.

“Beautiful Trauma” Track List:
01 Beautiful Trauma
02 Revenge
03 Whatever You Want
04 What About Us
05 But We Lost It
06 Barbies
07 Where We Go
08 For Now
09 Secrets
10 Better Life
11 I Am Here
12 Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken
13 You Get My Love

Listen to “Beautiful Trauma” below: