Concert Review: Stevie Wonder Takes a Knee, Duets With Pharrell Williams at Global Citizen Festival (Watch)

Stevie Wonder grabbed headlines all over the world Saturday night when he took a knee in support of Colin Kaepernick at the Global Citizen Festival, but his wasn’t the only statement made — or the only music played — during the six-hour long, nine-artist event. The sixth annual festival, held in New York’s Central Park on a glorious fall day, saw more than 60,000 people crammed into the Great Lawn in support of the event’s overriding message to end extreme poverty by 2030. Along with Wonder’s 80-minute closing set, the lineup of musicians and speakers included Green Day, the Killers, the Chainsmokers, Andra Day, Whoopi Goldberg and Hugh Jackman.

For the most part, Trump policy was not the focus of the festival, though #StoptheCuts was often displayed on the many video screens, referring to cuts in foreign aid. Sen. Chuck Schumer, dressed in shorts and fresh from a bike ride to the park, addressed that issue as well as the latest attempt to derail Obamacare, eliciting cheers from the crowd with his message, “We’ll continue to have the Statue of Liberty as our symbol, not that damn wall!”

The six-hour show, broadcast on MSNBC, mixed messages and music throughout, at times during sets when bands would stop to isolate a particular issue, such as when the Lumineers started with “Who’ll Stop the Rain” and segued into “Cleopatra” as a clip about lynching played on the screens.

Dignitaries from nations around the world came to discuss, in short speeches, a range of topics; health, education, food and water issues received the most attention. Among the speakers and hosts were actors Kal Penn, Whoopi Goldberg, Hugh Jackman, Priyanka Chopra and Lupita Nyong’o, primatologist Jane Goodall, singer Demi Lovato, radio/TV personality Wendy Williams and a host of Congresspeople.

The show progressed gradually with Alessia Cara, Big Sean, Andra Day and the Lumineers leading to more-established acts the Killers (currently on a mini-tour of New York), the Chainsmokers and finally to headliners Green Day and Wonder. The lineup was heavier on rock than previous years, particularly 2016, which was headlined by Rihanna and Kendrick Lamar.

“This is one of the most important things you can do with you lives,” Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong told the crowd during the band’s half-hour, eight-song set that leaned heavily on songs from the band’s 2004 opus, “American Idiot.”

Wonder led off his headlining set by “taking a knee for America,” but then tore into a crowd-pleasing set filled with songs suited for the day’s purpose and messages. “Higher Ground,” “Don’t You Worry About a Thing,” “Living for the City,” “Superstition” along with other lights like “Boogie on Reggae Woman,” “Sir Duke” and “My Cherie Amour.” He was joined by Pharrell Williams late in the set for a romp through “We Are the World,” Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” and even Pharrell’s own “Happy,” interpolated with some of John Lennon’s “Imagine.” “I can’t believe what just happened,” Williams said toward the end of the set.

More Music

  • Jay Frank

    Jay Frank, UMG Senior VP and Digital Music Veteran, Dies at 47

    Universal Music executive and digital music veteran Jay Frank died Sunday after a battle with cancer. He was 47. UMG chief Lucian Grainge remembered him in a message sent to the company. “Dear Colleagues,” it reads. “I’m deeply saddened to tell you that our colleague and friend Jay Frank has passed after a recurrence of [...]

  • Boomtown Rats Feature Doc Launches From

    Boomtown Rats Feature Doc Launches From New Music Banner BeyondTNC (EXCLUSIVE)

    Bob Geldof and the re-formed Boomtown Rats will talk about their legendary punk band in a new feature doc, “Boomtown.” It is one of the first two films from a new music producer-distributor that has been formed by Beyond Entertainment and TNC Media – BeyondTNC. BeyondTNC will be launching “Boomtown” to international buyers in Cannes, [...]

  • Zedd

    DJ Zedd Banned From China After Liking 'South Park' Tweet

    Zedd has been “permanently banned” from China after the German DJ liked a tweet from the “South Park” Twitter account. Zedd, whose real name is Anton Zaslavski, announced the news via his own Twitter account: “I just got permanently banned from China because I liked a @SouthPark tweet,” he wrote. I just got permanently banned [...]

  • Kim Gordon album art

    Album Review: Kim Gordon's 'No Home Record'

    The line between art and artifice is one that Kim Gordon has explored throughout her four-decade career, first as cofounder of Sonic Youth and more recently as a visual artist, memoirist, fashion designer, actress, and one-half of the experimental duo Body/Head. When we’re perusing a corporately designed bauble or experience, are we genuinely imagining the [...]

  • Dana Walden Awkwafina Chaka Khan Mariah

    Variety's Power of Women Celebrates Honorees' Voices and Activism

    When Jennifer Aniston was 11, she was casually dismissed from the dinner table by a parental figure “because I ‘didn’t have anything interesting to add to the conversation.’” That belittlement has stayed with the “Friends” and “The Morning Show” star through to adulthood, prompting her to muse at Variety‘s Power of Women luncheon on the messages [...]

  • Neil Young

    Film News Roundup: Neil Young Documentary 'Mountaintop' Set for Release

    In today’s film news roundup, Neil Young’s “Mountaintop” is coming, AMC replaces its CFO, Bob Weinstein is starting anew, and Ed Begley, Jr. and David Koechner join “Reboot Camp.” MUSIC DOCUMENTARY Abramorama is partnering with Shakey Pictures and Reprise / Warner Records to release the Neil Young documentary “Mountaintop.” The movie, which chronicles the making [...]

  • Pusha T and Nicholas Britell Create

    Pusha T Joins Line of 'Succession' by Adding Rap to Nicholas Britell's TV Theme

    After being inundated with requests from fans, composer Nicholas Britell decided to remix the the original main title theme for “Succession.” Hip-hop star Pusha T has added rap vocals to the show’s instrumental theme, creating a new track titled “Puppets (Succession Remix),” released two days before the “Succession” season 2 finale air date Oct. 13. [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content