Annie Baker, Taylor Mac Score 2017 MacArthur ‘Genius’ Grants

Two big theater names — Pulitzer-winning playwright Annie Baker and genre-bending performer Taylor Mac — are among the 2017 crop of artists and scientists to receive the MacArthur Fellowship, the $625,000 grant casually known as the “genius grant.”

Novelists Viet Thanh Nguyen (“The Sympathizer”) and Jesmyn Ward (“Sing, Unburied, Sing”), musician Rhiannon Giddens and New York Times Magazine writer Nikole Hannah-Jones are also among with painters, historians, scientists and human rights advocates to receive the 2017 fellowship, handed out annually by the MacArthur Foundation. The hefty stipend, paid in quarterly installments over five years, is among the largest prizes awarded to artists in the U.S.

Baker scores the fellowship for a body of work that is often quiet and elliptical, unafraid of silence and plumbing the emotions hiding behind the inarticulacy of everyday speech. Her 2009 breakout, “Circle Mirror Transformation,” about a small-town community acting class, has been done all over the country, and her 2013 play “The Flick,” about three employees at a failing movie theater, won her the Pulitzer. Recent plays — “John,” about infidelity and ghosts in a creepy bed and breakfast, and “The Antipodes,” about the tensions and unexpected mythic outbursts in a television writers’ room, have premiered at Off Broadway’s Signature Theater.

Writer-director-performer Mac, meanwhile, made a splash last season in New York with the 24-hour marathon “A 24-Decade History of Popular Music,” as much a work of musicology as it was performance. Known for elaborate costumes that draw from drag traditions, Mac creates work that aims to break down barriers between artists and audiences as well as the conventions of sexuality. The performer’s work as a writer includes “Hir,” a play about a gender-transitioning teen that had a run at Playwrights Horizons in 2015.

The MacArthur fellowships have a history of singling out stage talent, with past recipients including Lin-Manuel Miranda, set designer Mimi Lien, puppeteer Basil Twist and playwrights Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Samuel D. Hunter and Sarah Ruhl.

More Legit

  • 'Black Super Hero Magic Mama' Review

    L.A. Theater Review: 'Black Super Hero Magic Mama'

    What function do superhero stories play in American society? Are they merely escapist distractions for head-in-the-clouds teens, or could those same formats actually serve a practical function, providing useful tools for everyday life? Recognizing these comic book fantasies as by far the dominant form of contemporary mythmaking for a generation of young people, emerging playwright [...]

  • Danielle Brooks'Ain't Too Proud - The

    How 'Orange Is the New Black' Star Danielle Brooks Became a Broadway Producer

    Danielle Brooks earned a Tony nomination when she made her Broadway debut as Sofia in the 2015 revival of “The Color Purple,” but now the “Orange Is the New Black” star is working behind the scenes as a producer on the new jukebox musical “Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations.” “I [...]

  • Ain't Too Proud review

    Broadway Review: 'Ain't Too Proud'

    In the wake of the long-running “Jersey Boys” and the short-lived “Summer,” director Des McAnuff is back on Broadway with another show built around the song catalog of a music act — and although “Ain’t Too Proud” has all the right sounds and slick moves, this bio-musical of the R&B vocal group the Temptations is [...]

  • 'White Noise' Theater Review: Suzan-Lori Parks

    Off Broadway Review: Daveed Diggs in 'White Noise'

    Any new play by the Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks (“Topdog / Underdog”) demands — and deserves — attention. And in its premiere production at the Public Theater, her latest, “White Noise,” opens with a burst of brainy energy that lasts through the first act. But it takes a nosedive in the sloppy second half, [...]

  • Alexander Dinelaris

    'Jekyll and Hyde' Movie in the Works Based on Broadway Musical

    The Broadway musical “Jekyll and Hyde” is getting the movie treatment from Academy Award winner Alexander Dinelaris. Dinelaris, who is writing and producing the adaptation, won an Oscar for the “Birdman” script and was a co-producer on “The Revenant.” He is producing “Jekyll and Hyde” as the first project under his New York-based development company, [...]

  • Sam Mendes

    Listen: The 'Balls-Out Theatricality' of Sam Mendes

    If you find yourself directing a Broadway play with a cast so big it includes a goose, two rabbits, more kids than you can count and an actual infant, what do you do? If you’re Sam Mendes, you embrace the “balls-out theatricality” of it all. Listen to this week’s podcast below: “There is a kind [...]

  • James Corden Tony Awards

    James Corden to Host 2019 Tony Awards (EXCLUSIVE)

    James Corden has been tapped to once again host the Tony Awards, Variety has learned exclusively. “The Late Late Show” host previously emceed the annual theater awards show in 2016, and won the Tony for best actor in a play for his performance in “One Man, Two Guvnors” in 2012. “I’m thrilled to be returning to [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content