San Francisco Film Society’s Annual Gala Moves to Awards Season

The San Francisco Film Society is moving its awards night from the spring into awards season, setting its 60th anniversary event for Dec. 5 at San Francisco’s Palace of Fine Arts.

“One of San Francisco’s most highly anticipated film events and social gatherings, SF Film Awards Night has now moved to a new position in the city’s fall calendar, leveraging the Bay Area’s increasing awards season relevance and adding a new voice to the end-of-year film conversation,” the society said. “The program will recognize the storied careers of some of the best and brightest in contemporary cinema with special onstage tributes.”

The awards gala has always taken place during the San Francisco Film Festival in April. “We’ve been talking about this strategic move for awhile, and our big 60th anniversary seemed like the right time to do it,” spokesman Bill Proctor said.

The society’s awards, which include the Irving M. Levin Directing Award, the Peter J. Owens Acting Award, and the Kanbar Storytelling Award, will be announced in coming months. Mira Nair, Ellen Burstyn, and Tom McCarthy were the respective winners in 2016. Prior honorees have included Robert Altman, Francis Ford Coppola, Judy Davis, Guillermo del Toro, Harrison Ford, Richard Gere, Abbas Kiarostami, Spike Lee, Richard Linklater, Sean Penn, Eric Roth, James Schamus, Kevin Spacey, and Robin Williams.

The San Francisco International Film Festival is one of the longest-running film festivals in the U.S. Proceeds will benefit the society’s year-round programs in film exhibition.

More Film

  • A Stranger on the Beach

    Anonymous Content Wins Film Rights to Michele Campbell's 'A Stranger on the Beach' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Anonymous Content has won the adaptive rights to the forthcoming Michele Campbell novel “A Stranger on the Beach.” In a competitive situation, Anonymous outbid multiple players for the thriller, which it will adapt for the big screen with in-house producers Alex Goldstone and Rosalie Swedlin. “Stranger” has been likened to sensual thrillers like “Fatal Attraction” [...]

  • Ridley Scott Matt Damon Ben Affleck

    Ridley Scott, Matt Damon and Ben Affleck Team on Revenge Film 'The Last Duel'

    Ridley Scott looks to have his next directing job, as he has signed on to direct “The Last Duel” with Matt Damon and Ben Affleck attached to star. Damon, Affleck and Nicole Holofcener penned the script with Scott, Damon and Affleck all producing along with Scott’s producing partner Kevin Walsh. The project has been set [...]

  • Jonathan Taylor Thomas Ed Asner Elliott

    Jonathan Taylor Thomas, Ed Asner, Elliott Gould Seek SAG-AFTRA Board Seats

    Ed Asner, Elliott Gould and Jonathan Taylor Thomas are seeking SAG-AFTRA national board seats as members of presidential candidate Matthew Modine’s progressive Membership First slate. Asner is the former president of the Screen Actors Guild, serving two terms from 1981 to 1985, and winning five Emmys for his role as Lou Grant and two others [...]

  • Natalie Portman Thor Comic Con

    Comic-Con: Marvel 'Shock and Awe' Strategy Dominates Twitter Buzz

    Disney’s Marvel Studios handily won the hype trophy from this year’s Comic-Con International San Diego. Marvel Studios — which returned to the 2019 Comic-Con stage with a chock-full Phase 4 slate of announcements — dominated the discussion on Twitter out of the convention, capturing the biggest volume of buzz for nine of the top 10 [...]

  • Chris Rock - Netflix

    Chris Rock's 'Saw' Reboot Moves Up Five Months to May 2020

    Lionsgate has moved Chris Rock’s upcoming “Saw” reboot forward by five months to May 15, 2020, vacating the pre-Halloween date of Oct. 23, 2020. The studio indicated Monday that it decided to move the untitled “Saw” movie into the summer slot after seeing early footage from the set of the film currently shooting in Toronto. The move [...]

  • Peter Farrelly

    Peter Farrelly to Judge Sun Valley Film Festival's Film Lab Competition

    Sun Valley Film Festival has set “Green Book” director Peter Farrelly as the judge for the sixth annual Film Lab competition. The program, sponsored by Tito’s Handmade Vodka, which is in its sixth year, selects one team of filmmakers to work with the festival to complete their film projects. The director and producer of the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content