You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Film News Roundup: ‘Get Out’ Named Top Film of 2017 by African American Film Critics Assn.

In today’s film news roundup, “Get Out” wins top awards from the African American Film Critics, Fred Rogers gets a stamp, and Lyor Cohen is selected as a keynoter at SXSW.


Jordan Peele’s “Get Out” has won four awards from members of the African American Film Critics Association, taking the trophies for best film, director, actor, and screenplay.

AAFCA recognized Frances McDormand as best actress for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.” Laurence Fishburne won the supporting actor trophy for “Last Flag Flying” and Tiffany Haddish won supporting actress for “Girls Trip.”

Lakeith Stanfield, who also appears in “Get Out,” won the breakout star award for his lead role in “Crown Heights,” which also won the best independent award.

“The films released in 2017 captured a plethora of lifestyles, experiences and emotions that allowed our members to engage with a different range of storylines from previous years,” said AAFCA co-founder and president, Gil Robertson. “The success of ‘Girls Trip,’ the first R-rated film starring an all-Black female cast to surpass $100 million, and ‘Get Out,’ Jordan Peele’s directorial debut which surpassed $250 million worldwide, prove just how viable Black films are across the board.”

The AAFCA Awards will be presented Feb. 7 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. The following is a complete list of 2017 AAFCA Awards winners:

Best Picture: “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Best Director: Jordan Peele — “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Best Actor: Daniel Kaluuya – “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Best Actress: Frances McDormand – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (Fox Searchlight)
Best Supporting Actor: Laurence Fishburne – “Last Flag Flying” (Amazon Studios/Lionsgate)
Best Supporting Actress: Tiffany Haddish – “Girls Trip” (Universal Pictures)
Best Comedy: “Girls Trip” (Universal Pictures)
Best Ensemble: “Detroit” (Annapurna Pictures)
Best Independent: “Crown Heights” (Amazon Studios/IFC Films)
Best Animated: “Coco” (Disney/Pixar)
Best Documentary: “Step” (Fox Searchlight)
Best Foreign: “The Wound” (Kino Lorber)
Best Screenplay: “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Best Song: “It Ain’t Fair” – “Detroit” – The Roots featuring Bilal (Motown Records)
Best New Media: “Mudbound” (Netflix)
Best TV Series (Comedy): “Black-ish” (ABC)
Best TV series (Drama): “Queen Sugar” (OWN)
Breakout: Lakeith Stanfield – “Crown Heights” (Amazon Studios/IFC Films)


Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Fox Searchlight)
Coco (Disney/Pixar)
Girls Trip (Universal Pictures)
Detroit (Annapurna Pictures)
Call Me By Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)
The Shape of Water (Fox Searchlight)
Gook (Samuel Goldwyn Films)
Crown Heights (Amazon Studios/IFC Films)
Marshall (Open Road Films)


The United States Postal Service plans to issue a Mister Rogers stamp in 2018 timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of PBS’s “Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood.”

The USPS made the announcement Tuesday, two weeks after Focus Features said it had acquired the worldwide rights to Morgan Neville’s Fred Rogers documentary “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”

The USPS said Rogers had “inspired and educated young viewers with warmth, sensitivity and honesty.” It showed a mock up with Rogers, wearing his usual red sweater, and also unveiled stamps featuring performer/civil rights activist Lena Horne, astronaut Sally Ride and singer/songwriter John Lennon.

More Film

  • Michael B. Jordan Jordan Vogt-Roberts

    Film News Roundup: Michael B. Jordan, Jordan Vogt-Roberts Team for Monster Movie

    In today’s film news roundup, Michael B. Jordan is producing a creature feature, billiards champ Cisero Murphy is getting a movie, the sixth Terminator movie gets a title, and Graham King receives an honor. PROJECT UNVEILED New Regency and Michael B. Jordan’s Outlier Society are partnering on an untitled monster movie from “Kong: Skull Island” [...]

  • Nicolas Cage

    Nicolas Cage to Star in Martial Arts Actioner 'Jiu Jitsu'

    Nicolas Cage will star in the martial arts actioner “Jiu Jitsu,” based on the comic book of the same name. The cast will also include Alain Moussi, who stars in the “Kickboxer” franchise. Dimitri Logothetis is producing with Martin Barab and directing from a script he wrote with Jim McGrath. Highland Film Group is handling [...]

  • Chinese success of Thai film "Bad

    Chinese, Thai Shingles Pact for Co-Production Fund at FilMart

    A deal to establish a 100 million yuan ($14.9 million) co-production fund between China and Thailand was struck at FilMart on Tuesday to help launch TV and film projects that will appeal to Chinese and Southeast Asian audience. The deal that was struck by China’s Poly Film Investment Co., TW Capital from Thailand and Thai [...]

  • Kevin Tsujihara

    Kevin Tsujihara's Ouster Kicks Off a Week of Major Disruption in the Media Business

    The sudden ouster of Warner Bros. Entertainment chief Kevin Tsujihara kicked off what is likely to go down as one of the most extraordinary weeks in Hollywood history, spelling enormous turmoil and transition across the media landscape. In addition to the news about Tsujihara, which comes amid a wider shake-up of leadership at AT&T’s WarnerMedia, [...]

  • Buddha in Africa

    More than Half of Films at Hot Docs Film Festival Are Directed By Women

    More than half of the films playing at Hot Docs, North America’s largest documentary festival, are directed by women, the Canadian event said Tuesday. The festival’s 26th edition, which runs April 25-May 5, will screen 234 films, with 54% of the directors being women. In the competitive International Spectrum program, notable films receiving their world [...]

  • Korean Distributors Fight for Box Office

    Korean Distributors Fight for Box Office Market Share

    Korean distributors are having to fight ever harder for their share of Korea’s theatrical market share. Threats on the horizon include a slide in the performance of local movies, consolidation, the arrival of new players and the challenge from streaming services. South Korea’s theatrical box office is now bigger than that of France or Germany despite [...]

  • Korean Distributors Learn to Downsize in

    Korean Distributors Learn to Downsize in Saturated Market

    In 2018, the Korean film business stumbled, as local films made with blockbuster budgets and targeting the usual high seasons of Chuseok and Christmas last year failed to deliver blockbuster earnings.  So Korean distributors have embraced some tactics to enhance their bottom lines.  Genre films “Monstrum,” “Fengshui,” “The Negotiation,” “Take Point,” “Swing Kids” and “Drug King” [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content