You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Errol Morris to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards

Oscar-winning documentary filmmaker Errol Morris will receive the lifetime achievement award at the second Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards, the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced on Tuesday. Morris is set to be honored at the gala event hosted by Penn Jillette on Nov. 2 at BRIC in Brooklyn.

Journalist and author Kathryn Schulz will present Morris with the award. Previously announced Critics’ Choice impact award recipient Joe Berlinger will be presented with his award by Damien Echols, one of the West Memphis Three, the focus of Berlinger’s “Paradise Lost” documentary trilogy.

Morris’ honors include an Oscar win for “The Fog of War” and the grand jury prize at Sundance Film Festival for “A Brief History of Time.” His work has gained recognition by the National Society of Film Critics and the National Board of Review and is in the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art.

The director’s latest film, “Wormwood,” will be released by Netflix as a six-part event on Dec. 15. In addition, Morris has prepared a non-episodic theatrical version with a single intermission. Morris has authored two books, “A Wilderness of Error” and “Believing is Seeing,” and he is a regular contributor to the New York Times opinion pages and Op-Docs series.

See the full list of nominees for the 2017 Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards here.

More Film

  • American Film Institute Hires Susan Ruskin

    Susan Ruskin Appointed AFI Conservatory Dean

    The American Film Institute has named producer and educator Susan Ruskin as dean of the AFI Conservatory, where she will lead AFI’s graduate film-training program. Ruskin, who will also carry the title of executive VP, will report directly to Bob Gazzale, AFI President and CEO, the organization announced Tuesday. She replaces producer Richard Gladstein, who left [...]

  • shanghai skyline China Placeholder

    Shanghai: Er Dong Pictures Adds to Web of Hollywood and Chinese Deals

    Chinese production and talent company Er Dong Pictures shed some light on its latest film investment slate and growing web of relationships in Asia and Hollywood. The company, which is in the process of establishing a joint venture with Hollywood talent firm The Gersh Agency, and has a 12-film co-funding deal with Starlight Culture Entertainment, [...]

  • Tony Hale Forky Toy Story 4

    'Toy Story 4': Tony Hale on the Joys of Voicing a Plastic Spork Named Forky

    The lastest plastic hero to join the “Toy Story” franchise is Forky, a disposable spork who has some serious qualms about being a toy. He comes to life in “Toy Story 4” alongside Woody and Buzz Lightyear, who teach him that he’s much more than trash. Tony Hale, the actor best known to audiences as [...]

  • And Then We Danced

    Swedish Outfit French Quarter Steps Into TV With Graphic Novel Adaptation

    Swedish production company French Quarter, the outfit behind Cannes Directors’ Fortnight entry “And Then We Danced,” is venturing into TV with a web series adapted from Henrik Bromander’s graphic novel “Kurs I självutplåning” (“Course in self-annihilation”). The comedy series has been commissioned by the Swedish broadcaster SVT, as first reported by Nordic Film & TV [...]

  • Mindy Kaling (L) and Director Nisha

    Women Directors and Writers Make Gains in Independent Films But Lag on Parity

    Women directors, writers, editors and producers are making inroads, reaching historic highs in the world of independent films — while still lagging in reaching parity with men, a new study shows. The latest Indie Women study, released Tuesday, found that women achieved record-setting levels as directors (33% in 2018-19, up from 29% in 2017-18), writers [...]

  • David Shin

    Disney Shuffles Management in Hong Kong, Australia

    Disney has reshuffled its management in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Australasia following the March completion of its 21st Century Fox takeover. In Hong Kong and New Zealand, Fox executives have been elevated. In Australia and New Zealand, Disney’s management is staying on. David Shin has been appointed VP and GM of The Walt Disney Company [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content