You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Lion,’ ‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Mr. Robot’ Win ASC Awards

Lion” lenser Greig Fraser walked away with top honors in the feature film category at the 31st annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards Saturday night. Fraser also won the Golden Frog at last year’s Camerimage cinematography festival.

Other nominees in the field were James Laxton (“Moonlight”), Rodrigo Prieto (“Silence”), Linus Sandgren (“La La Land”) and Bradford Young (“Arrival”). Each of the ASC feature nominees were also nominated by the Academy this year.

In the ASC’s TV categories, “Game of Thrones” and “Mr. Robot” came out victorious, while HBO’s “The Night Of” won in the miniseries/pilot category.

“House of Others” DP Gorgka Gomez Andreu won the third annual Spotlight award, which recognizes feature-length projects that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release.

Denzel Washington and cinematographers Edward Lachman, Philippe Rousselot, Bill Garcia and Nancy Schreiber won honorary awards.

Last year’s ASC and Oscar winner for cinematography was Emmanuel Lubezki for “The Revenant.”

Full list of this year’s ASC Awards winners below.

Theatrical Release
Lion” (Greig Fraser, ASC)

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television
“Game of Thrones” – “Battle of the Bastards” (Fabian Wagner)

Regular Series for Commercial Television
“Mr. Robot” – “eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc” (Tod Campbell)

Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television
“The Night Of” – “Subtle Beast” (Igor Martinovic)

“House of Others” (Gorgka Gomez Andreu, AEC)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Edward Lachman, ASC

Board of Governors Award
Denzel Washington

Career Achievement in Television Award
Ron Garcia, ASC

International Award
Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC

Presidents Award
Nancy Schreiber, ASC

Bud Stone Award of Distinction
Frank Kay, Bruce Burke

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award Winners
Undergraduate: Emmett Sutherland (“Closer”)
Graduate: Andrew Jeric, “Prisoner”

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award
Colin F. Shepherd (“Into the Microscope”)

More TV

  • MMA Alters Faces of Asia Sports

    MMA Alters Faces of Asian Sports Broadcasting

    Bruce Lee was ahead of the curve by about four decades when he predicted back in the early 1970s that combat sports would one day take the world by storm. Hong Kong’s favorite son had encouraged his own students to mix up the styles of martial arts they were being trained in — to combine kung fu [...]

  • Variety Kit Harington Game of Thrones

    Kit Harington on How 'Game of Thrones' Mirrors Real-World Politics

    In Variety‘s March 19 cover story, Kit Harington opens up about the final season of “Game of Thrones” and growing into adulthood as part of the biggest show on television. In a conversation in London in December, Harington opened up about the similarities between the series’ politics and our own. “I think it’s always been about [...]

  • Chris O'Dowd

    TV News Roundup: Chris O'Dowd to Star in 'Twilight Zone' Episode

    In today’s roundup, The CW has released two clips from the upcoming “Riverdale” special “Heathers: The Musical,” and Chris O’Dowd will star in an episode of “The Twilight Zone.”  CASTING Chris O’Dowd will star in CBS All Access’ rebooted “The Twilight Zone” episode titled “The Blue Scorpion.” The series will premiere with two episodes on [...]

  • Kevin Tsujihara

    Kevin Tsujihara's Ouster Kicks Off a Week of Major Disruption in the Media Business

    The sudden ouster of Warner Bros. Entertainment chief Kevin Tsujihara kicked off what is likely to go down as one of the most extraordinary weeks in Hollywood history, spelling enormous turmoil and transition across the media landscape. In addition to the news about Tsujihara, which comes amid a wider shake-up of leadership at AT&T’s WarnerMedia, [...]

  • Wendy Williams Sober Living House

    Wendy Williams Reveals She's Been Staying in a Sober-Living House

    Wendy Williams, during an emotional monologue on her talk show on Tuesday, revealed through tears that she has been staying at a sober-living house. “So you know me for being a very open and truthful person,” she began the segment on “The Wendy Williams Show,” fighting through tears. “And I’ve got more to the story [...]

  • Hong Kong Industry Executives Seek Clarity

    FilMart: Hong Kong Industry Executives Plead for Clarity on Mainland Chinese Tax Policies

    At a time of heightened scrutiny of tax affairs in China’s entertainment sector, even industry veterans in Hong Kong are struggling to figure out how to operate in the new financial environment and pleading for more clarity from the Chinese government. Hong Kong produces about 60 films a year, three-quarters of which are typically co-productions [...]

  • Michael Jackson R Kelly

    'Leaving Neverland,' 'Surviving R. Kelly' Composers on How They Scored Sexual Abuse Docs

    How do you put music to child sexual abuse — especially if the accused predators are musical icons? That’s the challenge composers Chad Hobson and Nathan Matthew David faced as they scored HBO’s “Leaving Neverland” and Lifetime’s “Surviving R. Kelly,” respectively. The documentaries are built around interviews with the alleged victims of Michael Jackson (two [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content