You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Andrew Haigh’s ‘Lean on Pete’ Wins Top Prizes at Les Arcs Festival

Andrew Haigh’s “Lean On Pete” won the top prize, the Crystal Arrow, as well as best actor (Charlie Plummer), cinematography (Magnus Nordenhof Jønck) and original score (James Edward Barker) at the 9th edition of Les Arcs European Film Festival.

Starring Travis Fimmel, Steve Buscemi and Chloë Sevigny, “Lean On Pete” world premiered at Venice Film Festival where it earned Plummer a best actor nod. The film follows a teenager who gets a summer job working for a horse trainer and befriends a fading racehorse.

Susanna Nicchiarelli’s “Nico, 1988,” winner of Venice Film Festival’s Horizons Award for best film, won the Grand Jury prize. The film stars Trine Dyrholm (“Love Is All You Need”) as Nico, the Andy Warhol muse and Velvet Underground vocalist, in her final years.

The actress prize went to Maria-Victoria Dragus for her performance in Barbara Albert’s “Mademoiselle Paradis,” which world premiered at Toronto in the competitive Platform section and went on to play at San Sebastian. The movie scored 10 nominations at the Austrian Film Awards.

“Mademoiselle Paradis” tells the tale of a blind pianist living in 18th-century Vienna who forms a bond with the physician who is trying to restore her sight.

Iram Haq’s “What Will People Say,” the Norwegian-Pakistani helmer’s follow up to feature debut “I Am Yours,” scooped the Public’s Choice Award. The movie, inspired by Haq’s own life, centers around a first-generation Norwegian teen who clashes with the traditional values and expectations of her Pakistani émigré parents.

“What Will People Say” premiered at Toronto in the Platform section and won the Audience prize at the AFI Fest. At Les Arcs, “What Will People Say” also earned a special mention from the Young Jury. Haq who attended the French Alps-set festival, also received the Sisley Prize which is given every year to a young and talented woman filmmaker.

Robert Schwentke’s “The Captain” won both the Young Jury Award and a special mention from the Press Jury. Boris Khlebnikov’s “Arrhythmia” won the main Press Award.

In other prizes, Boudewijn Koole’s “Disappearance” nabbed the Cineuropa Award, which is attributed to a film produced or co-produced by a country member of the MEDIA or Eurimages programmes.

This year’s jury was presided over by Céline Sciamma, followed by Hungarian helmer László Nemes (“Son of Saul”), Belgian actress Natacha Régnier, Russian composer Evgueni Galperine, French actress Clotilde Courau, French-Lithuanian director Alanté Kavaïté and French-Tunisian actor/director Sami Bouajila.

The festival, whose film selection is spearheaded by artistic director Frederic Boyer, attracted a record number of participants and a flurry of talent, including Gemma Arterton, Jalil Lespert, Vanessa Paradis, Mélanie Thierry, Rory Keenan and Nicchiarelli.

Les Arcs European Film Festival ran Dec. 16-23.

More Film

  • 'The Dirt' Review: A Mötley Crüe

    Film Review: 'The Dirt'

    A long time ago, the words sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll carried a hint of danger. The lifestyle did, too, but I’m talking about the phrase. It used to sound cool (back around the time the word “cool” sounded cool). But sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll has long since passed into the realm [...]

  • James Newton Howard Danny Elfman

    New Trend in Concert Halls: Original Music by Movie Composers — No Film Required

    Movie and TV composers are in greater demand than ever for, surprisingly, new music for the concert hall. For decades, concert commissions for film composers were few and far between. The increasing popularity of John Williams’ film music, and his visibility as conductor of the Boston Pops in the 1980s and ’90s, led to his [...]

  • Idris Elba Netflix 'Turn Up Charlie'

    Idris Elba in Talks to Join Andy Serkis in 'Mouse Guard'

    Idris Elba is in negotiations to join Andy Serkis and Thomas Brodie-Sangster in Fox’s fantasy-action movie “Mouse Guard” with “Maze Runner’s” Wes Ball directing. Fox is planning a live-action movie through performance capture technology employed in the “Planet of the Apes” films, in which Serkis starred as the ape leader Caesar. David Peterson created, wrote, [...]

  • Zac Efron Amanda Seyfried

    Zac Efron, Amanda Seyfried Join Animated Scooby-Doo Film as Fred and Daphne

    Zac Efron has signed on to voice Fred Jones while Amanda Seyfried will voice Daphne Blake in Warner Bros.’ animated Scooby-Doo feature film “Scoob.” It was revealed earlier this month that Will Forte had been set to voice Norville “Shaggy” Rogers, while Gina Rodriguez would be voicing Velma Dinkley. The mystery-solving teens and their talking [...]

  • 'Staff Only' Review: Cultures And Values

    Film Review: 'Staff Only'

    Marta (Elena Andrada) is 17, from Barcelona and alternately bored and mortified to be on a Christmas vacation to Senegal with her estranged dad, Manel (Sergi López), and annoying little brother, Bruno (Ian Samsó). For her, the freedoms of imminent adulthood, such as the occasional poolside mojito, are tantalizing close but still technically forbidden, rather [...]

  • Rocketman

    Candid 'Rocketman' Dares to Show Elton John as 'Vulnerable,' 'Damaged,' 'Ugly'

    Elton John movie “Rocketman” dares to portray the singer’s personality early in his career to have been, at times, “ugly,” Taron Egerton – who plays the pop star – told an audience at London’s Abbey Road Studios Friday, following a screening of 15 minutes of footage from the film. It is a candid portrayal, showing [...]

  • Ben Affleck

    Ben Affleck's Addiction Drama Set for Awards-Season Release

    Warner Bros. has given Ben Affleck’s untitled addiction drama an awards-season-friendly release date of Oct. 18. The film, which has been known previously as “The Has-Been” and “Torrance,” is directed by Gavin O’Connor and stars Affleck as a former basketball player struggling with addiction, which has led to him losing his wife. As part of [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content