‘Sweet Country,’ ‘Newton’ Share Top Honors at Asia Pacific Screen Awards

Sweet Country,” a Western set in the Australian Outback, was named best film at the annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards on Thursday.

The film, which won the Golden Lion at the Venice festival earlier this year, is the second feature by cinematographer-turned-director Warwick Thornton. His first film, “Samson and Delilah,” won the APSA best picture award in 2009, making Thornton the only two-time APSA winner.

The APSA awards were in their 11th iteration. They were presented Thursday evening at a ceremony in Brisbane, Australia.

The other big winner during the evening was India’s “Newton.” It earned a best acting prize for Rajkummar Rao, while Mayank Tewari and Amit V. Masurkar claimed the award for best screenplay.

Russia’s Andrey Zvyagintsev was named best director for “Loveless,” which had its premiere in Cannes. Zvyagintsev previously won the best film award with “Leviathan” in 2014.

The international awards were decided by a jury headed by film editor Jill Bilcock. She praised Thornton for his “strong cinematic style and personal knowledge of his own culture.”

Of the 42 nominees, she said: “I was particularly impressed by the rise of stories featuring strong women characters and also the emergence of some truly talented female directors. The Asia Pacific region continues to bring us extraordinary stories and talent with a highly original slant.”

The APSAs, which follow UNESCO’s definition of the Asia-Pacific region, took in nominations from 25 territories. Films from both Georgia and Russia won three APSAs each on Thursday. Films from Australia and India won two APSAs each. There were no prizes for films from cinema’s East Asian powerhouses China, Korea and Japan.

The Cultural Diversity Award, under the patronage of UNESCO, was awarded to “Dede,” which was filmed on location in the UNESCO World Heritage-protected province of Svaneti and directed by Mariam Khatchvani. “Dede” will now screen at UNESCO’s Paris headquarters on Dec. 12. The other Georgian winner was Sashishi Deda’s “Scary Mother.”

During the ceremony, the Motion Picture Association (MPA) announced the four recipients of the eighth round of the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund. The four development grants of US$25,000 each went to Rajit Kapur (India) for “Paradise in Flames”; Robert Connolly (Australia) for “Magic Beach”; Guy Davidi (Israel) for “Senseless”; and Vladimer Katcharava (Georgia) for “Nene.”

Sweet Country” (Australia) Produced by Greer Simpkin, David Jowsey. Dir. Warwick Thornton

“The Seen and Unseen” (“Sekala Niskala”) (Indonesia, Netherlands, Australia, Qatar) Dir. Kamila Andini

“Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming” (Canada) Dir. / prod. Ann Marie Fleming

Winner: “Last Men in Aleppo” (Syria, Denmark, Germany) Dir. Feras Fayyad
Special mention: “Kim Dotcom: Caught in the Web” (New Zealand) Dir: Annie Goldson.

Andrey Zvyagintsev for “Loveless” (“Nelyubov”) (Russia, Belgium, France, Germany)

Mayank Tewari, Amit V. Masurkar for “Newton” (India)

Pyotr Dukhovskoy, Timofey Lobov for “The Bottomless Bag” (“Meshok Bez Dna”) (Russia)

Nata Murvanidze for “Scary Mother” (“Sashishi Deda”) (Georgia, Estonia)

Winner: Rajkummar Rao for “Newton” (India)
Special mention: Navid Mohammadzadeh for “No Date, No Signature” (“Bedoune Tarikh, Bedoune Emza”) (Iran)

Winner: “Dede” (Georgia, Croatia, Netherlands, Qatar, U.K.) Dir. Mariam Khatchvani.
Special Mention: “Lady of the Lake” (“Loktak Lairembee”) (India) Dir. Haobam Paban Kumar

Bianca Balbuena (Philippines)
Determined by FIAPF–International Federation of Film Producers Associations for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia Pacific region.

Ilgar Najaf for “Pomegranate Orchard” (“Nar Bagi”) (Azerbaijan)
Awarded by the NETPAC Jury, the Young Cinema Award presented by Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) and Griffith Film School, recognizes the abundant emerging talent of the Asia Pacific.

Abbas Kiarostami for “24 Frames” (Iran, France)
The APSA 2017 International Nominations Council commends Abbas Kiarostami with a special artistic acknowledgement, and the APSA Academy confers posthumous Academy membership on him.

More Film

  • Elsie Fisher and Bo Burnham2019 Writers

    Writers Guild Announces 2020 Awards Show Date

    The 72nd Annual Writers Guild Awards will take place in coinciding ceremonies in Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton and the Edison Ballroom in New York on Feb. 1, the Writers Guild of America announced. The WGA will begin voting in November and will reveal this year’s TV nominees Dec. 5 and film Jan. 6. [...]

  • Tarantino Movies Ranked Illustration

    All of Quentin Tarantino's Movies Ranked

    In the history of cinema, has any director done more to elevate the idea of movies as cool than Quentin Tarantino? Certainly, the idea that films could be made by fans dates back at least to the French New Wave, when a group of die-hard critics stepped behind the camera. A few years later, Spielberg, [...]

  • A Stranger on the Beach

    Anonymous Content Wins Film Rights to Michele Campbell's 'A Stranger on the Beach' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Anonymous Content has won the adaptive rights to the forthcoming Michele Campbell novel “A Stranger on the Beach.” In a competitive situation, Anonymous outbid multiple players for the thriller, which it will adapt for the big screen with in-house producers Alex Goldstone and Rosalie Swedlin. “Stranger” has been likened to sensual thrillers like “Fatal Attraction” [...]

  • Ridley Scott Matt Damon Ben Affleck

    Ridley Scott, Matt Damon, Ben Affleck and Nicole Holofcener Team on 'The Last Duel'

    Ridley Scott looks to have his next directing job, as he has signed on to direct “The Last Duel” with Matt Damon and Ben Affleck attached to star. Damon and Affleck co-wrote the script with Oscar-nominated Nicole Holofcener. Scott, Damon and Affleck all producing along with Scott’s producing partner Kevin Walsh. Drew Vinton is also [...]

  • Jonathan Taylor Thomas Ed Asner Elliott

    Jonathan Taylor Thomas, Ed Asner, Elliott Gould Seek SAG-AFTRA Board Seats

    Ed Asner, Elliott Gould and Jonathan Taylor Thomas are seeking SAG-AFTRA national board seats as members of presidential candidate Matthew Modine’s progressive Membership First slate. Asner is the former president of the Screen Actors Guild, serving two terms from 1981 to 1985, and winning five Emmys for his role as Lou Grant and two others [...]

  • Natalie Portman Thor Comic Con

    Comic-Con: Marvel 'Shock and Awe' Strategy Dominates Twitter Buzz

    Disney’s Marvel Studios handily won the hype trophy from this year’s Comic-Con International San Diego. Marvel Studios — which returned to the 2019 Comic-Con stage with a chock-full Phase 4 slate of announcements — dominated the discussion on Twitter out of the convention, capturing the biggest volume of buzz for nine of the top 10 [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content