You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Lion’ Sweeps AACTA Technical Awards

The Weinstein Company’s “Lion” completed a clean sweep of the technical prizes awarded by the Australian Academy of Cinematographic and Television Arts. In the documentary categories, “Whiteley” emerged with four of the seven prizes on offer.

The awards, which range from editing to screenwriting, were presented on Monday at a lunch. The AACTAs in performance categories will be presented at an evening event on Wednesday.

The Academy has in recent days been rocked by unspecified allegations made against leading Australian actor Geoffrey Rush. The star, who won an Oscar for his performance in Australian film “Shine,” resigned as president of AACTA on Saturday. He has denied allegations of improper behavior and sought clarifications of the complaint apparently made while he was engaged with the Sydney Theatre Company’s “King Lear.”

Lion,” directed by Garth Davis and executive produced by Harvey Weinstein, the U.S. executive now surrounded by scandal, won AACTA awards in all seven of the categories it was nominated. Having won in the best adapted screenplay category, it was ineligible for best original screenplay. That was won by “Ali’s Wedding.”

2017 AACTA Awards (incomplete)
Feature Film
Best Original Screenplay
“Ali’s Wedding” Andrew Knight, Osamah Sami

Popular on Variety

Best Adapted Screenplay
“Lion” Luke Davies

Best Cinematography
“Lion” Greig Fraser

Best Editing
“Lion” Alexandre de Franceschi

Best Sound
“Lion” Robert Mackenzie, Glenn Newnham, Nakul Kamte, Andrew Ramage, James Ashton, Mario Vaccaro

Best Original Music Score
“Lion” Volker Bertelmann, Dustin O’Halloran

Best Production Design
“Lion” Chris Kennedy

Best Costume Design
“Lion” Cappi Ireland

Best Feature Length Documentary
“Casting Jonbenet” Kitty Green, Scott Macaulay, James Schamus

Best Documentary Television Program
“War on Waste” Jodi Boylan – ABC

Best Direction In A Documentary
“Whiteley” James Bogle

Best Cinematography In A Documentary
“Blue” Jody Muston, Jon Shaw

Best Editing In A Documentary
“Whiteley” Lawrie Silvestrin

Best Sound In A Documentary
“Whiteley” Ric Curtin, John Simpson, Lawrie Silvestrin

Best Original Music Score In A Documentary
“Whiteley” Ash Gibson Greig

More Film

  • 'Wonder Woman 1984' Trailer: Gal Gadot

    'Wonder Woman 1984' Trailer: Gal Gadot Returns With Pedro Pascal, Kristen Wiig

    “Wonder Woman 1984” dropped its first trailer on Sunday, with Gal Gadot returning as the titular Amazonian goddess. The film is set, of course, in the 1980s in America, decades after the first film’s events. Kristen Wiig is playing Wonder Woman’s infamous comic-book nemesis Cheetah, while Chris Pine is returning for the sequel. It’s unclear, [...]

  • Over the Sea

    Macao Film Review: 'Over the Sea'

    The beginning is a fairy tale, or a nursery rhyme. A woman nurses her squalling baby in a house by an orchard near the sea. Sunlight slants in through the open windows, the mother hums a lullaby, and then brings her son outside and places him in a cot suspended from the apple-laden branches of [...]

  • CCA Film Nominations

    Critics' Choice: 'The Irishman,' 'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood' Lead Movie Nominations

    “The Irishman” has picked up the most film nominations for the 35th annual Critics’ Choice Awards. The Martin Scorsese gangster drama goes into the awards show with 14 noms, including best picture, director, acting ensemble as well as best actor (Robert De Niro) and supporting actor (Al Pacino and Joe Pesci), the Critics’ Choice Association [...]

  • Parasite

    'Parasite' Named Best Film of 2019 by L.A. Film Critics Association

    Members of the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. met Sunday to vote on the year’s best cinema accomplishments. Recent winners of the group’s top prize include “Roma,” “Call Me by Your Name,” “Moonlight,” “Spotlight,” “Boyhood,” “Her”/”Gravity” and “Amour.” “Parasite” has fared the best, taking not only best picture, but also best director for Bong Joon [...]

  • Jumanji The Next Level

    Box Office: 'Jumanji 2' Kicks Off Overseas With $52 Million as 'Frozen 2' Powers Toward $1 Billion

    Disney’s “Frozen 2” skated past international box office competition again as the animated sequel propels toward the billion-dollar mark globally. “Frozen 2” generated another $90 million from 48 foreign territories, boosting its worldwide weekend haul to $124.9 million. After three weekends in theaters, Disney’s musical follow-up has made $919.7 million and should cross $1 billion [...]

  • Lily James

    Lily James Delivers Masterclass in Charm in Macao

    British actor, Lily James delivered a masterclass in charm and good humor at a seminar on Sunday at the International Film Festival and Awards Macao. Questioned on stage by one of the festival’s senior programmers, James brightly chatted her way through eight years of a screen career that has taken her from “Downton Abbey” to [...]

  • Avengers Endgame Lion King Frozen 2

    Disney Crushes Own Global Box Office Record With Historic $10 Billion

    Thanks to a record number of billion-dollar blockbusters, Disney has become the first studio in history to surpass $10 billion at the worldwide box office. Through Sunday, the studio has generated $3.28 billion in North America and $6.7 billion overseas for a global haul of $9.997 billion and is expected to officially cross the benchmark [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content