You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Hunting Season’ Takes Top Prize at Macao Festival

“Hunting Season,” by Argentinian first-time feature director Natalia Garagiola was named as best film at the International Film Festival and Awards Macao. France’s Xavier Legrand was named best director for domestic terrorism thriller “Custody.”

Prizes were handed out Thursday evening at Macau’s Cultural Centre, in front of a crowd that mixed local dignitaries, Hong Kong movie folk and a high-profile international contingent of film makers, industry executives, and festival programmers.

The prizes were decided on by a jury headed by France’s Laurent Cantet. The judging panel also included actress Joan Chen, writer-director Joan Chen, novelist Lawrence Osborne, and director Royston Tan.

The jury chose “Hunting Season” for its “fluid style and construction… the precision of its directing .. and for the quality of its acting,” Cantet said. “The film deals with subjects both difficult and delicate : mourning for a mother’s death, the reconciliation between estranged fathers and sons, the loneliness of young men.”

“I don’ want to say the F-word. But this is really amazing,” said Garagiola after receiving her prize.

Iconic German actor, Udo Kier was also on hand to receive a previously announced career achievement award. “My heart is with the independent film industry,” said Pier from the stage. “This festival so full of young energy.”

The closing ceremony also saw Variety and the IFFAM collaborate to put the spotlight on eight Asian acting talents who have the potential to become regional and global stars. They included Shioli Kutsuna (“Oh Lucy”), Ludi Lin (“Monster Hunt”), Chutimon Cheungcharoensukying (“Bad Genius”), Piolo Pascual (“Silong”), Celina Jade (“Wolf Warriors II”), Ahn Seo-hyun (“Okja”) and Rajkummar Rao (“Newton”).

Other visitors included Michelle Yeoh, Donnie Yen, Charles Heung, Yuki Kito, Yu Dong, Bonnie Voland, Wilfred Wong, Kim Dong-ho, and Andrew Ooi.

The second running of the IFFAM played out Dec. 8-14.

IFFAM Jury Prizes
Best Film: “Hunting Seasons” dir. Natalia Garagiola.
Best director: Xavier Legrand.
Best actress: Jessie Buckley in “Beast”
Best actor: Song Yang in “Wrath of Silence”
Best new young actor: Tomas Gioria in “Custody”
Jury prize: “Wrath of Silence”
Best screenplay: Samuel Moaz for “Foxtrot”
Best technical contribution: Benjamin Kracun for “Beast”

Other prizes
NETPAC Award: “Angels Wear White” dir. Vivian Qu
Macao audience award: “Borg McEnroe” dir. Janus Metz.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Between Worlds Nicolas Cage

    Nicolas Cage, Alex Wolff to Star in Pulse Films’ Truffle Hunter Movie ‘Pig’

    Nicolas Cage is a truffle hunter who wants his pig back in “Pig,” which started production Monday in Oregon. The film, which Michael Sarnoski will direct from his own script, will also star Alex Wolff (“Hereditary”). Pulse Films, BlockBox Entertainment, Valparaiso Pictures and Cage’s Saturn Pictures are producing in association with Escape Artists and Sweet [...]

  • Sid Haig Dies Devil's Rejects

    Sid Haig, Horror Actor in Rob Zombie Trilogy, Dies at 80

    Sid Haig, known for his role as Captain Spaulding in Rob Zombie’s “House of 1000 Corpses” trilogy, died Saturday. He was 80. His wife announced the news on Instagram. Haig had a fall several weeks ago and suffered serious breathing complications after arriving at the hospital. He died of a lung infection. “On Saturday, September [...]

  • France Boasts Europe's Highest Number of

    France Still Boasts Europe's Highest Number of Theater Screens Per Capita

    France, Europe’s No. 1 movie-going nation, still boasts the continent’s highest number of screens per capita, according to a new study conducted by the French National Film Board (CNC). As of last year, France had 2,040 theaters and 6,000 screens – 69 more screens than in 2017. Out of the 2,040 theaters, 226 are multiplexes. [...]

  • Arab Genre Film

    Arab Genre Films Get Boost From Beirut's Maskoon Lab (EXCLUSIVE)

    Just as Netflix tries to gain traction in the Middle East by backing local genre series, such as its first Arab original, “Jinn,” from Jordan, and Egypt’s upcoming “Paranormal,” Beirut’s Maskoon Fantastic Film Festival is launching the region’s first platform dedicated to genre films. Five Arabic-language projects, ranging from a zombie comedy to a supernatural [...]

  • Simon Yam in "Little Q"

    China Box Office: Hong Kong Dog Film 'Little Q' Leads the Pack

    As China gears up for a big political anniversary and national holiday, its box office has been dominated by innocuous animal films and local fare capable of keeping censors happy but unable to make that huge of a splash. None of the top four weekend titles has scored more than 7 out of 10 on [...]

  • Vendrá-la-muerte-y-tendrá-tus-ojos

    Watch Trailer for ‘Death Will Come and Shall Have Your Eyes’ (EXCLUSIVE)

    SAN SEBASTIAN — “Death Will Come And Shall Have Your Eyes” Italy’s Cesare Pavese wrote memorably in a poem that enchanted Chilean film director José Luis Torres Leiva a decade or so back. Now he delivers a film of that title which world premieres at San Sebastian in main competition and talks about death without, [...]

  • Ad Astra Box Office

    Box Office: 'Downton Abbey,' 'Ad Astra' and 'Rambo' Prove Power of Older Audiences

    Older audiences still care about going to the movies. That’s the takeaway after Hollywood profited by providing cinephiles of drinking age with compelling content last weekend. Three new nationwide releases — Focus Features’ “Downton Abbey,” Disney-Fox’s “Ad Astra” and Lionsgate’s “Rambo: Last Blood” — catering to these crowds enjoyed a promising start. Most notably, “Downton Abbey,” [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content