You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

2017 Emmys: TV Academy Revamps Interactive Media Awards Categories

The Television Academy has rejiggered the Interactive Media award categories for the 69th Emmy Awards — aiming to bring new and innovative digital approaches to TV storytelling into the tent.

The Interactive Media Peer Group of the Television Academy has introduced four new category awards and one new juried award for 2017.

The four revised categories are: Outstanding Interactive Program; Outstanding Original Interactive Program; Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media Within a Scripted Program; and Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media Within an Unscripted Program. The full membership of the IMPG votes on the works submitted in these Categories, with five nominees selected for each category.

The reimagined juried award for Innovation in Interactive Programming will recognize pioneering interactive work in emerging uses of interactive media in television. That Emmy will be awarded by a blue-ribbon industry panel selected for their expertise in the field.

“Our award categories have been completely redesigned for 2017, and we’re extremely excited to see all the great work being submitted,” IMPG Co-Governor Seth Shapiro said in a statement.

Last year, the Interactive Media awards comprised three juried categories: Multiplatform Storytelling; Original Interactive Program; and Social TV Experience.

Many professionals working in interactive and digital media aren’t aware that their work may qualify for Emmy consideration, according to IMPG Co-Governor Marc Johnson. “Interactive media is driving many of the changes in the ways viewers consume, engage with, and enjoy television — from digital extensions of TV shows, to the new frontiers of VR and AR,” he said.

Submissions for the 2017 Emmy Awards in Interactive Media are due by May 1, 2017 (with supporting materials due by May 12). The awards are open to interactive-media productions that have been commercially deployed in the U.S. between June 1, 2016, and May 31, 2017.

More information about the Interactive Media awards is available here.

More TV

  • adidas game of thrones

    5 New 'Game of Thrones' Collaborations Coming in Time for the Final Season

    Some of the biggest lifestyle brands in the world are jumping on the “Game of Thrones” bandwagon this spring, hoping to capitalize on the fandom and popularity of the HBO hit, as it enters its eighth and final season. From sneakers to spirits, these officially-licensed collaborations extend the characters and colors of the show beyond [...]

  • Nicole Richie

    Nicole Richie Joins Fox Comedy Pilot 'Richard Lovely'

    Nicole Richie has been cast in a series regular role in the Fox single-cam comedy pilot “Richard Lovely.” The project follows Richard Lovely (Thomas Lennon), the disgruntled author of the best-selling children’s book series, “Mr. Mouse.” He doesn’t hate children, but rather just everything about them. After a publicity fiasco involving an unexpectedly savvy 9-year-old [...]

  • Lachlan Murdoch

    New Fox CEO Lachlan Murdoch Announces All Employees to Receive Stock in Company

    The new standalone entity Fox Corp. held a town hall on Thursday, just over a day after the official closing of the 21st Century Fox-Disney merger. Fox Corp. chairman and CEO Lachlan Murdoch led the meeting, at which sources say he announced that all employees would receive stock in the new company. The amount of [...]

  • Deadwood

    'Deadwood' Movie Drops First Trailer, Premiere Date

    HBO is taking fans back to Deadwood. Nearly 13 years after the hit Western series ended, HBO Films has released the first look at “Deadwood: The Movie.” The film will premiere on the network on May 31. Series regulars Ian McShane, Timothy Olyphant, Molly Parker and John Hawkes will reprise their roles in the film, [...]

  • Jeaninne Pirro

    Fox News Will Keep Jeanine Pirro Off Schedule for Another Week

    “Justice With Judge Jeanine,” the Saturday-night opinion show led by Jeanine Pirro, will be off the Fox News schedule for a second week in the wake of remarks she made about a Muslim congresswoman. The network’s online schedule shows that it will run another repeat of the documentary series “Scandalous” in its place Saturday night [...]

  • Drew Goddard

    Drew Goddard Inks Exclusive Overall Deal With 20th Century Fox TV

    Writer, director and producer Drew Goddard has signed an exclusive, multiyear overall deal with 20th Century Fox Television, under which he will write, create, direct and develop new TV series for the studio across all platforms. Goddard’s deal, announced by Disney Television Studios and ABC Entertainment chairman Dana Walden, is the first to close since [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content