You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘La La Land,’ ‘Arrival,’ ‘This Is Us’ Win ACE Eddie Awards for Film Editing

Fresh off a record-tying 14 Oscar nominations this week, Damien Chazelle’s “La La Land” walked away with the American Cinema Editors’ award for best editing of a comedy feature Friday night at the 67th annual ACE Eddie Awards. It’s the first of what is expected to be many industry honors for the musical over the next several weeks.

The prize went to editor Tom Cross, an Oscar winner and ACE nominee for Chazelle’s previous film, “Whiplash.”

In the highly competitive drama category, editor Joe Walker won out for Denis Villeneuve’s alien invasion psychodrama “Arrival.” Walker was previously ACE-nominated for “12 Years a Slave” and “Sicaro,” and along with Cross, was Oscar-nominated this year for his work.

“Zootopia” won the animated feature prize, while “O.J.: Made in America” took the documentary honor.

In the TV categories, “Game of Thrones,” “Veep” and “This Is Us” were among the series that secured wins.

Previously announced, director J.J. Abrams received the organizations ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor, presented to him by friend and collaborator Jeff Garlin. Career achievement awards went to editors Janet Ashikaga and Thelma Schoonmaker, presented respectively by directors Thomas Schlamme and Martin Scorsese.

This year’s Oscar nominees for film editing are “Arrival,” “Hacksaw Ridge,” “Hell or High Water,” “La La Land” and “Moonlight,” all ACE-nominated. Last year’s film editing Oscar winner was “Mad Max: Fury Road.”

Full list of ACE Eddie winners below.

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)
“Arrival” (Joe Walker, ACE)

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)
“La La Land” (Tom Cross, ACE)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
“Zootopia” (Fabienne Rawley & Jeremy Milton)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)
“O.J.: Made in America” (Bret Granato, Maya Mumma & Ben Sozanski)

Best Edited Documentary (Television)
“Everything is Copy: Nora Ephron – Scripted & Unscriped” (Bob Eisenhardt, ACE)

Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television
“Veep” — “Morning After” (Steven Rasch, ACE)

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television
“This Is Us” — “Pilot” (David L. Bertman, ACE)

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television
“Game of Thrones” — “Battle of the Bastards” (Tim Porter, ACE)

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television
“All the Way” (Carol Littleton, ACE)

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series
“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” — “Senegal” (Mustafa Bhagat)

Student Competition
Tommy Wakefield — University of North Carolina, School of the Arts

More Artisans

  • Chile's Production Incentives Include New 30%

    Chile Incentives Pilot Program Aims to Draw Producers With 30% Rebate

    With over 2,500 miles of Pacific Ocean coastline, the long and narrow South American country of Chile encompasses a remarkable variety of weather patterns and landscapes. Filmmakers traveling there will discover that the Chilean Economic Development Agency in alliance with nation’s film commission recently launched what it calls a Pilot Program for High-Impact Audiovisual Investment [...]

  • Set di "Gomorra 3", regia di

    'My Brilliant Friend,' 'Gomorrah' Show Different Sides of Naples

    When Saverio Costanzo, the director of HBO and RAI’s “My Brilliant Friend,” started to plan how he would depict the grand but gritty city of Naples — one that’s so vivid in the imaginations of millions of Elena Ferrante readers, he quickly decided that the working-class neighborhood at the core of her four Neapolitan novels [...]


    How a Costume Designer Brightened M. Night Shyamalan's 'Glass'

    Paco Delgado’s costumes are as varied as his films. Contrast the drama “The Danish Girl,” the futuristic fantasy “A Wrinkle in Time” and the period musical “Les Misérables.” Now he’s in comic-book territory with M. Night Shyamalan’s newest superhero/supervillain thriller, “Glass,” which Universal releases Jan. 17. The costume designer’s career began in Barcelona and London, [...]

  • Bird Box

    Los Angeles On-Location Feature Filming Surges 12.2% in 2018

    On-location feature filming in Greater Los Angeles expanded impressively in 2018, gaining 12.2% to 4,377 shooting days, according to FilmL.A. Production activity for feature films rose 15.5% to 1,078 shooting days during the fourth quarter, with 146 days coming from projects receiving California tax credits — including Netflix’s “Bird Box,” Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a [...]


    How Writer-Crew Collaborations Are Changing the Script for the Creative Process

    In traditional filmmaking, once a script is written, the director and department heads break it down and figure out the costs and logistics of production. But if the screenwriter collaborates during the creative process with key crew members, the entire production can benefit.  Such collaboration offers the prospect of help on many fronts. For example, [...]

  • avengers infinity war

    'Avengers,' 'Lost in Space,' 'Ready Player One' Lead Visual Effects Society Nominations

    The Visual Effects Society announced nominees for the organization’s 17th annual awards on Tuesday. Leading the way in the film and TV fields, respectively, were Marvel’s “Avengers: Infinity War” and Netflix’s “Lost in Space.” Each picked up six nominations. Pixar’s “Incredibles 2” received the most nominations among animated feature contenders with five. “Ready Player One” [...]

  • Dynasties BBC Vundu Pack

    Bush Guides, Night Cameras Help BBC America’s ‘Dynasties’ Catch Unique Moments

    Just getting to one of the locations of BBC America wildlife documentary series “Dynasties” — presented by David Attenborough and following the lives of endangered animals — requires an 11-hour flight from London to Johannesburg, a two-hour connection to Harare, Zimbabwe, an hourlong chartered Cessna 206 trip to Mana Pools National Park airstrip and an [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content