You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Danny Boyle Toplines LMGI Awards

Location Managers Guild International's Trailblazer Award goes to Lori Balton; Stuart Raven Barter to get Lifetime Achievement Award

Director Danny Boyle (“Trainspotting,” “Slumdog Millionaire”) will receive the Eva Monley Award at the Location Managers Guild International’s 4th annual awards show on April 8.

Location Scout Lori Balton (“Seabiscuit,” “Inception”) will be honored with the Trailblazer Award. The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to location professional Stuart Raven Barter (“True Romance”).

LMGI president Eric Klosterman made the announcement.

The LMGI Awards spotlight international features, television, and commercials in which the creative use of filming locations sets the tone for the project.

Winners of additional awards will be revealed during the formal ceremony, hosted by National Public Radio’s Rico Gagliano on April 8 at the Warner Bros. Steven J. Ross Theater in Burbank.

Boyle is best known for his work on “Slumdog,” nominated for ten Academy Awards and winner of eight, including best director. Other credits include “Shallow Grave,” “28 Days Later,” and “Steve Jobs.” He was also art director on the opening ceremony of the 2012 London Summer Olympics. Boyle’s “T2 Trainspotting,” pictured above, will debut later this year.

The Eva Monley Award is named after the spirited globe-trotting African location scout for John Huston, David Lean, and Otto Preminger, and honors industry professionals that support of the work of location specialists. The 2016 Eva Monley honoree was director Wes Anderson.

Danny Boyle is the ideal candidate for this award,” says LMGI VP JJ Levine.”[He] utilizes locations to embrace the essence of his characters and to capture moments in time, from both an emotional and cultural perspective.”

Trailblazer Award recipient Balton, who is LMGI past president, is the first location professional to be accepted into the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She has collaborated with such directors as Robert Redford, Mike Nichols, Ava DuVernay, Martin Scorsese, Paul Thomas Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Michael Bay, and Steven Spielberg.

Balton is a founding member of the LMGI and a former member of the steering committee for Hollywood Teamsters 399. Her award will be presented by Brad Silberling and Alexander Payne.

Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Barter boasts a body of work encompassing multiple cinematic and commercial classics. He forged his commercial scouting career in the 70s and worked alongside such directors as Ridley and Tony Scott (on “Thelma and Louise” and “Unstoppable”), Bob Giraldi (Michael Jackson’s “Beat It”), and commercial guru Joe Pytka. The latter will present him with the award.

As previously announced, the nominees for the 4th Annual LMGI Awards are:

• Game of Thrones – Matt Jones/LMGI, Naomi Liston/LMGI
• Stranger Things -Tony Holley/LMGI
• The Crown – Pat Karam, Robert Bentley/LMGI
• The Man in the High Castle – Nicole Noelle Chartrand, Robert Murdoch
• Westworld – Mandi Dillin/LMGI

• Better Call Saul, Season 2 – Christian Diaz de Bedoya
• Bosch – Robert Paulsen, Paul Schreiber/LMGI
• Goliath – Jason Kaplon/LMGI, Mike Barry/LMGI
• Scandal – Veronique Vowell/LMGI
• The Affair – Sean Ilnseher
• The Night Manager -Tom Howard, Daniel Sampedro Palerm

• Creative Scotland – The BFG
• Nevada Film Office – Jason Bourne
• New Mexico Film Office – Hell or High Water/Preacher
• NY State Governor’s Office of Motion Picture Development – The Girl on the Train
• Royal Film Commission of Jordan – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

• “Bulbs” (Macbook Pro) – David Doumeng/LMGI, Charlie Love/LMGI
• “Rally” (O Organics) – Byll Williams/LMGI, Phill Kane/LMGI
• “The Carpool to Rio” (Visa) – Heather Haase/LMGI, Ron Shino, Johnny Catrolli, Rob Darwin
• “This Land is Your Land” (Johnnie Walker) – JJ Levine/LMGI, Will Brewster, Patrick Burn, Dana Hanby
• “World’s Biggest Asshole” (PSA Donate Life) – Galidan Nauber/LMGI, Cale Hanks

• Hacksaw Ridge – Edward Donovan
• Hail, Caesar! – John Panzarella, Leslie Thorson/LMGI
• Hidden Figures – Wes Hagan/LMGI, Dan Gorman/LMGI
• Live by Night – JJ Hook/LMGI, Laura Bryant
• Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Mark Somner, David O’Reilly/LMGI

• Hell or High Water – Jonathan Slator/LMGI, Erik Keeling-Torrez
• Jason Bourne – Chris Moore, Peter Martorano/LMGI
• La La Land – Robert Foulkes/LMGI, Steve Beimler/LMGI
• Lion – Hugo Cran, Sandeep Rudra, Harsh Dave
• Manchester by the Sea – Kai Quinlan, Alex Berard

Popular on Variety

More Artisans

  • Roma Cinematography

    'Mission: Impossible - Fallout' and 'Roma' Win LMGI Awards for Motion Pictures

    Two major 2018 releases – actioner “Mission: Impossible – Fallout” and critics’ darling “Roma” – were honored for film location work by the Location Managers Guild International at a ceremony this evening at the Eli & Edythe Broad Stage in Santa Monica. The 6th Annual LMGI Awards also recognized “Chernobyl” and “Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan” [...]

  • Peaky Blinders Season 5

    Time-Jumping Season 5 of 'Peaky Blinders' Aims for a More Cinematic Look

    Cinematographer Si Bell was thrilled to learn he and director Anthony Byrne had been tapped to shoot the fifth season of BBC’s “Peaky Blinders,” but surprised to find out how free a hand executive producers Caryn Mandabach and Jamie Glazebrook were giving them to determine the scheme of their six-episode run. “I expected to meet the [...]

  • Ad Astra

    How 'Ad Astra' Production Crew Created Authentic Look for Brad Pitt Space Drama

    In “Ad Astra,” Brad Pitt’s astronaut Roy McBride crosses the solar system to find and confront his long-lost father, requiring the movie crew to create an authentic-looking future that conveys the theme of traveling long distances to learn the lesson that it’s where you started from that has the most value. “Visually, the aim was [...]

  • Women in Animation Logo

    WIA Partners With Animation Mentor, Toon Boom to Expand Scholarship Program

    Women in Animation has partnered with Animation Mentor and Toon Boom to expand the organization’s WIA Scholarship Program with workshops and software packages. WIA scholarships are given to animation students with a financial need and who demonstrate talent and passion for animation that will lead to a promising career in the field. The Animation Mentor [...]

  • Steven Poster ICG National President

    DP Steven Poster to Receive SOC Lifetime Achievement Award

    Stephen Poster, cinematographer on such classics as “Donnie Darko” and Madonna’s “Like a Prayer,” will receive the Lifetime Achievement Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Camera Operators at a ceremony on Jan. 18, 2020. SOC grants the award to an Individual who has served the community at large and/or the Society through outstanding service [...]

  • Swedes Call for Incentives to Keep

    Swedes Call for Incentives to Keep Potential Runaways at Home

    Horror film “Midsommar” did it last year. A new adaptation of the Swedish classic “The Emigrants” will do it next year. Prestigious productions that could have taken advantage of beautiful Swedish locations and craft expertise continue to run away to foreign locations for lower costs and tax incentives. Despite having a strong film industry creatively [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content