MTV has renewed “Scream” for a third season, consisting of six episodes, Variety has learned.

“Scream” showrunners Michael Gans and Richard Register will depart the series for the third season, though new showrunners have not been set.

The showrunner shuffle marks the third showrunner change in three seasons. Original showrunners Jill Blotevogal and Jaime Paglia stepped down after the first season with Gans and Register taking over for the second season.

No details regarding casting, location or a production start date have been revealed for Season 3.

“Scream,” which is a take on the horror-slasher film franchise from Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson, is exec produced by Harvey and Bob Weinstein, Tony DiSanto, Liz Gateley, Marianne Maddalena and Cathy Konrad. Matthew Signer and Keith Levine are producers.

The Season 3 renewal comes ahead of the two-hour “Scream” Halloween special, which airs Tuesday, Oct. 18 at 9 p.m. on MTV.