The Disney/ABC Television Group Writing Program has selected the eight participants for its 2016 program.

The program has helped launch the careers of many active writers and producers. In the current TV season nearly 20 alums of the writing program are working on shows on various Disney/ABC channels.

This year’s comedy selections are:

  • directors’ assistant Dayo Adesokan, whose hometown is Lagos, Nigeria
  • writers’ assistant Amanda Idoko (Bronx, NY)
  • reality segment producer Andrew Mathieson (Fairfax County, VA).

This year’s drama selections are:

  • playwright and financial consultant Ron McCants (Springfield, MO),
  • USC Law School graduate and showrunners’ assistant Miguel Ian Raya (Los Angeles, CA)
  • playwright and Occidental College Adjunct Professor Janine Salinas Schoenberg (Lima, Peru and Walnut Creek, CA)
  • writers’ production assistant Christina Walker (Virginia Beach, VA)
  • engineer and writers’ assistant Jeffery Wang (Monterey, CA)

“Incorporating multi-cultural and unique life experiences into the creative process affords Disney|ABC the opportunity to create compelling storylines in its storytelling,” said Tim McNeal, Disney/ABC TV Group’s VP of creative talent development and inclusion. “The continued support we have received from Disney/ABC producers and creative executives is a testament to the company’s commitment to diversity, and seeing so many of our writers rise through the ranks in various writers’ rooms validates the program’s effectiveness.”