LONDON — In another strong year for British television, historical drama “Wolf Hall,” Shane Meadows’ “This Is England ‘90” and “Peter Kay’s Car Share” came up trumps at the BAFTA Television Awards, which unspooled on May 8 in London’s Royal Festival Hall.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Graham Norton, saw BBC2’s “Wolf Hall” win best drama series as well as leading actor for Mark Rylance’s depiction of Thomas Cromwell’s rise to power through Henry VIII’s royal court.

Upon receiving the award for best drama series, helmer Peter Kosminsky attacked the U.K. government’s treatment of the BBC, warning that its future was “under threat, make no mistake about that.”

On May 12, Blighty’s government is due to publish its white paper on the future of the Beeb, with the scope and funding of the corporation under threat. Kosminsky noted that government proposals that threatened the independence of the BBC would turn it into a state broadcaster “a bit like they do in those bastions of democracy Russia and North Korea.”

“This Is England ’90,” the latest instalment in Shane Meadows’ Sheffield-set drama, nabbed awards for best miniseries, beating out local click “Doctor Foster,” Working Title’s “London Spy” and Sky’s “The Enfield Haunting” as well as best supporting actress for Chanel Cresswell. It was nominated for three awards going into the event.

British comedian Peter Kay snapped up the award for best male comedy performance for his laffer “Peter Kay’s Car Share” as well as the BAFTA for scripted comedy.

Suranne Jones won in the leading actress category for her portrayal of a wife betrayed by her husband’s infidelity in “Doctor Foster” while Tom Courtenay’s performance in “Unforgotten” earned him the award for supporting actor, his third BAFTA in total.

Amazon Studios’ dramedy “Transparent,” which sees a transgender parent coming out to her family, snapped up the award for best international program, beating out “The Good Wife,” “Narcos” and “Spiral.”

Comedy writers Ray Galton and Alan Simpson were honored with a BAFTA fellowship. The duo, who created “Hancock’s Half Hour” and “Steptoe and Son,” were unable to attend the ceremony but sent a video message to the audience.

“Poldark,” based on the Winston Graham tomes and adapted by Debbie Horsfield, snapped up the Radio Times Audience Award, the only award of the ceremony voted by members of the public. The Cornish saga which sees Ross Poldark return to U.K. shores after the American Revolutionary War, stars Aidan Turner, Ed Browning and Heida Reed.

The Special Award in Honor of Alan Clarke was presented to comedian Lenny Henry in recognition of his outstanding contribution to television during a career that has so far spanned 40 years. His credits have included “Tiswas,” “Three of A Kind” as well as co-founding Comic Relief, which has raised more than £1 billion ($1.4 billion).

The star-studded event saw the likes of Idris Elba, Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Tom Hiddleston, Josh Hartnett and Hugh Bonneville grace the red carpet on a markedly sunny evening in the U.K. capital.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Leading actor
Mark Rylance – Wolf Hall (BBC2) – (WINNER)

Ben Whishaw – London Spy (BBC2)
Idris Elba – Luther (BBC1)
Stephen Graham – This is England ’90 (Channel 4)

Leading actress
Suranne Jones – Doctor Foster (BBC1) – (WINNER)

Claire Foy – Wolf Hall (BBC2)
Ruth Madeley – Don’t Take My Baby (BBC3)
Sheridan Smith – The C-Word (BBC1)

Drama series
Wolf Hall (BBC2) (WINNER)
Humans (Channel 4)
The Last Panthers (Sky Atlantic)
No Offence (Channel 4)

Entertainment program
Strictly Come Dancing (BBC1) (WINNER)

Adele at the BBC (BBC1)
Britain’s Got Talent (ITV)
TFI Friday anniversary special (Channel 4)

Female Performance in a Comedy Program
Michaela Coel – Chewing Gum (Channel 4) (WINNER)

Miranda Hart – Miranda (BBC1)
Sian Gibson – Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer)
Sharon Horgan – Catastrophe (Channel 4)

Transparent (Amazon Prime) (WINNER)

The Good Wife (More4)
Narcos (Netflix)
Spiral (BBC4)

Male performance in a comedy program
Peter Kay – Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer) (WINNER)

Hugh Bonneville – W1A (BBC2)
Javone Prince – The Javone Prince Show (BBC2)
Toby Jones – Detectorists (BBC 4)
Single drama

Single drama
Don’t Take My Baby (BBC3) (WINNER)

The C-Word (BBC1)
Cyberbully (Channel 4)
The Go-Between (BBC1)

Radio Times audience award (voted for by members of the public)
Poldark (WINNER)

Doctor Foster
The Great British Bake Off
Making a Murderer
Peter Kay’s Car Share
Supporting actor

Supporting actor
Tom Courtenay – Unforgotten (ITV) (WINNER)

Anton Lesser – Wolf Hall (BBC2)
Cyril Nri – Cucumber (Channel 4)
Ian McKellen – The Dresser (BBC2)
Reality and constructed factual

Reality and constructed factual
First Dates (Channel 4) (WINNER)

Gogglebox (Channel 4)
I’m a Celebrity … Get Me Out of Here (ITV)
The Secret Life of 4, 5 and 6 Year Olds (Channel 4)

Supporting actress
Chanel Cresswell – This is England ‘90 (Channel 4) (WINNER)

Eleanor Worthington-Cox – The Enfield Haunting (Sky Living)
Lesley Manville – River (BBC1)
Michelle Gomez – Doctor Who (BBC1)

Comedy and comedy entertainment program
Have I Got News for You (BBC1) (WINNER)

Charlie Brooker’s Election Wipe (BBC2)
Would I Lie To You (BBC1)

Specialist factual
Britain’s Forgotten Slave Owners (BBC2) (WINNER)

Grayson Perry’s Dream House (Channel 4)
The Hunt (BBC1)
Rudolf Nureyev – Dance to Freedom (BBC2)

Soap and continuing drama
EastEnders (BBC1) (WINNER)

Coronation Street (ITV)
Emmerdale (ITV)
Holby City (BBC1)

The Great British Bake Off (BBC1) (WINNER)

Back in Time for Dinner (BBC2)
Kevin McCloud: Escape to the Wild (Channel 4)
Travel Man (Channel 4)

Scripted comedy
Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer) (WINNER)
Chewing Gum (E4)
Peep Show (Channel 4)
People Just Do Nothing (BBC3)

Entertainment performance
Leigh Francis – Celebrity Juice (ITV2) (WINNER)

Graham Norton – The Graham Norton Show (BBC1)
Romesh Ranganathan – Asian Provocateur (BBC3)
Stephen Fry – QI (BBC2)