You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘American Horror Story’ Teasers Offer Clues on Season 6

FX just revealed six teasers for the upcoming season of “American Horror Story” on YouTube and Facebook. The trailers were initially released on the ephemeral social media platform Snapchat, but we’ve gathered them all here.

The plot for Season 6 has yet to be unveiled, but series stars Lady Gaga, Denis O’Hare, Cheyenne Jackson, Angela Bassett, Evan Peters, and Matt Bomer are slated to return.

Series creator Ryan Murphy has previously said all prior “AHS” installments are related to each other. FX boss John Landgraf disclosed that Season 6 will take place in two separate time periods, but did not elaborate. Fans have been trying to decipher the short promotional spots for hints. The network seems to purposefully keeping things under wraps, with each of the videos featuring “?6” — a question mark and the season number.

Watch them all below.

Spot No. 1 –  “What’s Cooking”

This frightening farmhouse was revealed in the promotional first look last week. The sound of a chainsaw hearkens back to the horror classic “Texas Chainsaw Massacre.”


Spot No. 2 – “Sunset Stroll”

The second spot features a trio dressed as farmers.

Spot No. 3 – “Post Op”

The most graphic of the six spots show a man getting his head stapled. Torture and unnecessary medical procedures have been common throughout the entire series.

Spot No. 4 – Lullaby

This spot features a baby’s crib with a deadly mobile. In Season 5, Lady Gaga’s character The Countess had a demonic baby.

Spot No. 5 – The Descent

This promo depicts a common horror scene — running down the stairs into darkness.

Spot No. 6 – Milli Crossing

This stylized spot is not for those who are afraid of bugs. Millipedes are common on farms, and sometimes used for agricultural — or other — decomposition.

American Horror Story” Season 6 premieres Sept. 14 on FX.

More TV

  • _DSF7736.RAF

    How 'The Expanse' 'Died and Went to Heaven' at Amazon

    In the content space race currently being fought out in the entertainment industry, shows getting picked up by one platform after being dumped by another is becoming a more frequent phenomenon. Some moves feel more like a marriage of convenience, while others feel like a more obvious fit. Take “The Expanse” moving to Amazon Prime [...]

  • Lulu Wang Nicole Kidman

    Lulu Wang Boards Nicole Kidman Amazon Series 'The Expatriates'

    “The Farewell” writer and director Lulu Wang is teaming up with Nicole Kidman for the drama series “The Expatriates” at Amazon. The show had received a straight-to-series order at the streamer back in July. Wang is joining the series as a writer and executive producer and will also direct multiple episodes. Wang and Kidman had [...]

  • WGA West Logo

    Former 'Letterman' Head Writer Merrill Markoe to Receive Writers Guild Honor

    Merrill Markoe, longtime head writer at “Late Night With David Letterman,” will receive the Writers Guild of America West’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement. She will be honored at the Writers Guild Awards on Feb. 1 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. “Merrill Markoe’s pioneering work created what was then a new language [...]

  • TV News Roundup: Natalie Martinez Joins

    TV News Roundup: Natalie Martinez Joins CBS All Access' 'The Stand' (EXCLUSIVE)

    In today’s TV news roundup, Natalie Martinez will guest star in CBS All Access’ “The Stand,” and USA announces the third season premiere date of “The Sinner.”  CASTING Natalie Martinez (“The I-Land”) will guest star in CBS All Access‘ adaptation of “The Stand,“ based on Stephen King’s novel of the same name, Variety has exclusively learned. [...]

  • Deadliest Catch - Crab Fishing In

    Discovery Networks Corners Composers in Music Royalties Battle

    Shows on the Discovery Channel, Animal Planet, HGTV and Food Network may sound very different in the coming months. That’s because Discovery Networks, which owns those and other cable channels, is instituting a new pay policy that virtually assures no composer currently working on their programs will do so after Dec. 31. Discovery has informed [...]

  • Will Poulter attends a special screening

    'Lord of the Rings': Will Poulter No Longer Attached to Amazon Series (EXCLUSIVE)

    Will Poulter will not be appearing in Amazon’s upcoming “Lord of the Rings” series after all, Variety has learned exclusively. According to an individual with knowledge of the situation, scheduling conflicts will prevent the “Bandersnatch” and “Midsommar” actor from joining the show based on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien. Variety had exclusively reported on Poulter’s [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content