ABC has given series orders to dramas “Time After Time” and “Notorious” for the 2016-17 season.

Executive produced by Kevin Williamson, “Time After Time” tells the story of famed science fiction writer H.G. Wells, who is transported to modern day Manhattan in pursuit of Jack the Ripper.  Once Wells arrives in New York, he finds a world he never thought possible and a young woman who captivates him.

Freddie Stroma (“Harry Potter”) stars as H.G. Wells and  Josh Bowman (“Revenge”) as Jack the Ripper. Genesis Rodriguez and Regina Taylor also star.

“Time After Time” is produced by Outerbanks Entertainment in association with Warner Bros. Television. Williamson and Marcos Siega (“Blindspot,” “The Following”) serve as executive producers. Siega directed the pilot, with Williamson writing the teleplay. The show is based on the novel written by Karl Alexander.

The novel was previously adapted into a 1979 feature film of the same name directed by Nicholas Meyer.

“Notorious” is inspired by the true-life stories of famed criminal defense attorney Mark Geragos and cable news producer Wendy Walker, both of whom are executive producers. The series looks at the  interplay of the worlds of criminal law and the media.  Josh Berman (“Blacklist,” “Bones,” “CSI”) and will write and exec produce. Allie Hagan (“Suri’s Burn Book”) will serve as co-exec producer. The series is a co-production of ABC Studios and Sony Pictures TV.