Series Mania TV Fest Unveils Jury Members

Casar, Grisoni, Herrero, Abecassiss To Judge Skeins

Series Mania TV Unveils Jury Members
Photo by AGF s.r.l./REX/Shutterstock

Paris’ 7th Series Mania TV fest has unveiled its jury members: Yaël Abecassis (pictured), Amira Casar, Tony Grisoni and Fanny Herrero. As previously announced, “The Sopranos” creator and seven-times Primetime Emmys winner David Chase will preside over the jury.

For the first time, an international jury will judge the international skeins competing at main section, which includes eight series, most of them world premiering at Paris fest.

Israeli actress-model Abecassis won best actress kudo for TV series “Hatufim” at the Israeli TV Academy Awards and for “Shabatot VeHagim” at the Israel Golden Screen Awards. Abecassis latest work was in Amos Gitai’s “Rabin, the Last Day.”

French cinema-legit actress Casar has worked for a broad range of directors including the Quay brothers, Carlos Saura, Catherine Breillat, Tony Gatlif and Bertrand Bonello. Credits take in Canal Plus original series “Versailles” and Tomas Gilou’s Gallic hit “La vérité si je mens!.” Casar won a promising actress nod at France’s Cesar Awards in 1998 for “Verité.”

Brit screenwriter Grisoni has worked with directors such as Michael Winterbottom (“In This World”), and Terry Gilliam (“The Man Who Killed Don Quixote,” “Tideland”). He also penned U.K.’s hit “Southcliffe.” Grisoni snagged a Bafta TV Award for “The Unloved.”

Fanny Herrero is a French screenwriter whose credits include “Les Bleus, premiers pas dans la police,” and “Fais pas ci, fais pas ça.” She is also the creator and main writer of mini-series “Dix pour cent.”

Jury will determine the best series Grand Prix winner and the best screenplay nod Series Mania’s closing ceremony on Sunday April 24.

Founded and headed by Laurence Herszberg, Series Mania unspools at Paris’ Forum des Images. It runs April 15-24.