Matt Lucas Joins Pearl Mackie, Peter Capaldi in Season 10 of ‘Doctor Who’

Matt Lucas Joins Pearl Mackie, Peter
Courtesy of BBC America

Matt Lucas is to return to “Doctor Who” from the opening episode of season 10, following his appearance as Nardole in the show’s 2015 Christmas Day special “The Husbands of River Song.” The new season starts filming on Monday in Cardiff, Wales.

Lucas joins newcomer Pearl Mackie, who takes up the role of the companion of The Doctor, played by Peter Capaldi. It is Mackie’s first major television role following her appearance in the hit London stage show “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.”

Steven Moffat, lead writer and executive producer, said in a statement: “Delighted and slightly amazed to be welcoming Matt Lucas back on to the Tardis — and this time it’s not just for Christmas, he’s sticking around. One of the greatest comedy talents on Planet Earth is being unleashed on all of time and space.”

Stephanie Hyam will play a guest cast role in the new season. Hyam previously played Lily Clarke in “Jekyll & Hyde,” and has also appeared in “Peaky Blinders,” “Murdered by My Boyfriend” and “Sherlock.”

Nardole is described by the BBC as serial maker of mistakes. In “The Husbands of River Song,” he was an employee of River Song in the year 5343 in the human colony on Mendorax Dellora. Song had asked him to find a surgeon to operate on King Hydroflax, known as “the Butcher of the Bone Meadows.” Nardole recruited The Doctor instead.

The opening episode of season 10 is written by Moffat, executive produced by Brian Minchin, produced by Peter Bennett and directed by Lawrence Gough. The second episode has been penned by Frank Cottrell-Boyce, who was BAFTA nominated for “Hilary and Jackie.” Other writers working on the new season include Sarah Dollard, who wrote the episode “Face the Raven,” and Mike Bartlett, who wrote the series “Doctor Foster.”

“Doctor Who” is produced by BBC Cymru Wales for BBC One and BBC America. It will return in December with a Christmas Special, followed by the new season next year.