You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

René Lagler, winner of five Emmys and production designer of more than 2,500 television shows and events, will receive the Art Directors Guild Lifetime Achievement Award on Feb. 11, 2017.

Presentation of the honor will take place at the 21st Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. The announcement was made today by ADG Council Chair Marcia Hinds and ADG Awards co-producers Tom Wilkins and Tom Walsh.

Lagler designed the 57th Academy Awards in 1985, for which he won an Emmy; the Grammy Awards from 1983 to 1987; the Emmy Awards; and the Country Music Awards from 1991 to 2006. He was Production Designer for the Opening and Closing Ceremonies for the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles and for seven events for David Wolper’s Liberty Weekend in 1986.

Lagler also designed television specials and series for Barbara Streisand, Frank Sinatra, George Burns, Dinah Shore, Billy Crystal, Julie Andrews, Carol Burnett, Mary Tyler Moore, Glen Campbell, Dolly Parton, Barry Manilow, Tony Orlando, and Neil Diamond. He also worked on Hollywood Squares with his mentor E. Jay Krause.

Lagler redesigned the main newsroom studio for CNN in Atlanta, as well as CNN studios in New York, Los Angeles and Washington. He designed the Democratic National Convention in Atlanta in 1988, New York in 1992, Chicago in 1996 and Los Angeles in 2000, as well as both of President Clinton’s Presidential Inaugural Galas in 1993 and 1997.