You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Grace and Frankie,’ Amazon’s Roy Price Win at Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors Awards

A collection of industry executives, producers, and directors were honored by the Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors at its 34th annual awards dinner on Thursday night at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

The event celebrated the contributions of veteran producers and executives, as well as several young filmmakers who are just trying to break in.

Tanya Hart, the co-chair of the org, echoed the event’s focus on looking to the future of the industry. “We are very aware of what happens in our industry,” Hart said. “It evolves, and we, the caucus, have always been leading the evolution and we continue to do that with a verve that most membership organizations have not been able to do. Our student films, which are really what is the essence of this particular event, are phenomenal.”

The event, hosted by “Grey’s Anatomy” star James Pickens Jr. and Fox Sports 1’s Charissa Thompson, began with the awarding of grants to six young filmmakers for their respective projects. Honorees during the evening included Liberty Global CEO Michael Fries and Amazon Studios head Roy Price.

Executive of the year honoree Fries credited his father, Chuck, for his many years of service to the org and also spoke about the importance of the young filmmakers being honored at the event. “I think it’s incredible,” Fries said. “Nothing happens without the next generation of creativity and innovation. Something that we try to do in our organization, both internally and externally, is to support the next generation of leaders in this industry.”

Price, who accepted the new visions award, spoke about the importance of backing new filmmakers in events such as this one. “Its an exciting time in television because everybody is competing to come up with the most amazing show that everybody is talking about,” Price said. “I think the only way to do that is to find really talented people and get behind them and find somebody with a unique voice; it’s a great time to be a producer, a writer, a director or an agent.”

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Honors Award Winners
Producer: Marta Kauffman (“Grace and Frankie”)
Producer: Howard J. Morris (“Grace and Frankie”)
Writer: Robert and Michelle King
Director: Thomas Carter

Caucus Executive of the Year Award
Michael T. Fries, vice chairman, president and CEO, Liberty Global

Caucus Lifetime Achievement Award
Kevin Bright, executive producer, director, educator

New Visions Award
Roy Price, head of Amazon Studios

Caucus Chair’s Award
Stephanie Allain, producer, Homegrown Pictures

Caucus Distinguished Service Award
Frank Chindamo, professor, founder, Fun Little Movies

2016 Caucus Gold Circle Awards
First Place Winner: Panavision Camera Package — Ellie Foumbi for “Nocturne in Black” (Columbia University)
Second Place Winner: Illuminate Studios Post Production Package — Julio Vincent Gambuto for “The Julie Stories” (USC)

2016 Caucus Television and New Media Award
Dodge College, Chapman University, The Kama Sutra Club

More Scene

  • Noah CentineoNickelodeon Kids' Choice Awards, Show,

    Kids’ Choice Awards 2019: JoJo Siwa, Noah Centineo Take on Bullying

    This year’s Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards was full of positivity and encouragement to be yourself. DJ Khaled, known for his upbeat mantras, hosted the 32nd annual awards ceremony alongside JoJo Siwa at USC’s Galen center. Siwa accepted the award for favorite social music star. Siwa said in her acceptance speech, “I get hated on every [...]

  • Tina KnowlesSoul of Nation: Art in

    Jay-Z, Tina Knowles Celebrate New 'Soul of a Nation' Exhibit at Broad Museum

    “This show is so important. I mean, it’s our history — and it’s a very important part of our journey,” Tina Knowles Lawson said about Friday night’s opening of the exhibition “Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power 1963 – 1983” at the Broad Museum in DTLA. “I’m just so impressed [...]

  • Jordan Peele'Us' film premiere, Arrivals, New

    Jordan Peele Explains the Meaning Behind the 'Us' Michael Jackson Reference

    Jordan Peele’s horror movie “Us” is filled with pop culture references, from “Jaws” to “Goonies.” But the most divisive might be right in his opening sequence. Warning, minor spoilers ahead. The movie about a couple (played by Lupita Nyong’o and Winston Duke) and their children being hunted and brutalized by a mysterious family that looks just [...]

  • Danielle Brooks'Ain't Too Proud - The

    How 'Orange Is the New Black' Star Danielle Brooks Became a Broadway Producer

    Danielle Brooks earned a Tony nomination when she made her Broadway debut as Sofia in the 2015 revival of “The Color Purple,” but now the “Orange Is the New Black” star is working behind the scenes as a producer on the new jukebox musical “Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations.” “I [...]

  • Nick Offerman Amy Poehler

    'Parks and Recreation' Cast Talks Possibility of a Revival at 10th Anniversary Reunion

    For one night, Hollywood felt a little like Pawnee. The cast of NBC’s hit comedy “Parks and Recreation” reunited at PaleyFest on Thursday in honor of the show’s 10th anniversary. The whole Pawnee gang showed up: Amy Poehler, Chris Pratt, Aubrey Plaza, Nick Offerman, Aziz Ansari, Rob Lowe, Adam Scott, Rashida Jones, Retta, and Jim [...]

  • Andy CohenThe Shops and Restaurants at

    Andy Cohen to Receive Vito Russo Award at GLAAD Media Awards

    Mazel, Andy Cohen! Bravo’s late-night talk show host is set to receive the Vito Russo Award at the 30th annual GLAAD Media Awards on May 4 in New York City. Sarah Jessica Parker will present him with the award, which is named in honor of GLAAD founder Vito Russo. The annual award goes to openly [...]

  • Variety TV Summit Europe

    Variety TV Summit Europe Coming to London on June 13

    Variety’s TV Summit Europe will coincide with London Tech Week this year, returning to the city on June 13. The international conference will be held at the Royal Lancaster and is co-produced by global events company Informa’s KNect365 division, the world’s largest business-to-business organizer. The one-day summit will focus on the intersection of content and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content