You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Nina Simone to Be Honored With the Recording Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Legendary singer-songwriter Nina Simone will be honored by the Recording Academy with a Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 2017 Special Merit Awards.

The singer, who died in 2003, has had a resurgence in pop culture in the last couple years, with three different biopics about her life being released, including the Oscar-nominated, Liz Garbus-helmed “What Happened, Miss Simone.”

Other musical artists set to receive the Academy’s Lifetime Achievement recognition are Ahmad Jamal, The Velvet Underground, Shirley Caesar, Sly Stone, Charley Pride, and Jimmie Rodgers.

“This year’s Special Merit Awards recipients comprise a prestigious group of diverse and influential creators who have crafted or contributed to some of the most distinctive recordings in music history,” said Neil Portnow, President and CEO of The Recording Academy. “These exceptionally inspiring figures are being honored as legendary performers, creative architects, and technical visionaries. Their outstanding accomplishments and passion for their respective crafts have created a timeless legacy.”

Lifetime Achievement Awards are given to individuals who have made a significant impact in the recording industry. All recipients were selected by The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees. Additionally, Thom Bell, Mo Ostin, and Ralph Peer will be honored with Trustees Award, and electronics engineer Alan Dower Blumlein will posthumously receive the Technical Grammy Award.

The Recording Academy and Hal Leonard Books will also publish “A Grammy Salute To Music Legends,” a collection of tributes written by artists to the Special Merit Awards honorees. Performers who have contributed to the book include Eric Clapton, Elvis Costello, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Carly Simon, Patty Smith and Yo-Yo Ma, among others. The anthology will be available early next year.

Read about the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients below:

Gospel singer Shirley Caesar‘s list of accomplishments include 11 Grammy Awards, 14 Stellar awards, 15 Dove awards, a NAACP Image Award and a Soul Train Music Award. She is well-known for her time with the Chicago-based gospel group The Caravans, before deciding to pursue a solo career in 1966.

Pianist Ahmad Jamal‘s career spans over 50 years. He is known for his interpretations on such pieces as “Poinciana” and “Dolphin Dance,” as well as his own original compositions, including “Ahmad’s Blues.”

Singer/guitarist Charley Pride was the first African-American singer to perform at the Grand Ole Opry in 1967, and later became the Grande Ole Opry’s first African-American member almost 30 years later. His expansive song catalog includes “Just Between You And Me” and “All I Have To Offer You (Is Me),” among many others.

Country singer Jimmie Rodgers became one of the first three people inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1961. He currently has three recordings in the Grammy Hall Of Fame — “Blue Yodel (T For Texas),” “In The Jailhouse Now,” and “Blue Yodel #9 (Standing On The Corner).”

Jazz singer-songwriter Nina Simone is one of the most acclaimed singers of all time. She recorded over 40 albums over 5 decades and is known for her interpretations of “I Loves You, Porgy,” “Feeling Good” and “Sinnerman.” In 2000, she was inducted into the Grammy Hall Of Fame. Zoe Saldana portrayed Simone in the 2016 biopic, “Nina.”

Sly Stone is perhaps best known as the leading figure of the funk-rock band Sly & The Family Stone. Stone wrote a myriad of songs throughout his career, including “Dance To The Music,” “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin),” “Everyday People” and “There’s A Riot Going On.”

The Velvet Underground, comprising of Lou Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison, and Maureen “Moe” Tucker, was known for their avant-garde approach to rock music. Their 1967 debut album, “The Velvet Underground & Nico,” was produced by famed artist Andy Warhol and was eventually inducted into the Grammy Hall Of Fame in 2008.

Biographies of the Trustee Award recipients and complete list of winners can be read here.

Popular on Variety

More Music

  • Born to Be Live: 'Easy Rider'

    Born to Be Live: 'Easy Rider' Gets a Concert/Screening Premiere at Radio City

    In a year full of major 50th anniversary commemorations — from Woodstock to the moon landing — why not one for “Easy Rider,” Dennis Hopper’s hippie-biker flick that was released on July 14, 1969? That was the idea when a rep for Peter Fonda, who starred in the film as the laid-back Captain America, reached out [...]

  • Rob Thomas Sammy Hagar

    Sammy Hagar Joins Rob Thomas for 'Smooth' Performance (Watch)

    Who do you call when your pal Carlos Santana has plans on a Friday night? If you’re Rob Thomas, you recruit another famous friend, rocker Sammy Hagar, who turned up to help the singer close out the latest show of his Chip Tooth Smile tour with a performance of “Smooth” at the Fox Performing Arts [...]

  • US record producer The-Dream arrives for

    Top Music Publishers Come Together for Songs of Hope Honors

    The 15th annual Songs of Hope honors united songwriters, music industry insiders and more than a few preeminent doctors at producer Alex Da Kid’s Sherman Oaks compound on Thursday night. Jimmy Jam returned to host the event, which served as a fundraiser for the ever-vital City of Hope medical treatment center as well as a [...]

  • Monkees/Badfinger/Nazz Supergroup Takes Beatles' 'White Album'

    Monkees/Badfinger/Nazz Supergroup Gets Back to '68 by Touring Beatles' 'White Album'

    The 50th anniversary re-release of 1969’s “Abbey Road” may be just days away, but that doesn’t mean Beatles fans have been there and done that when it comes to celebrating ’68. Todd Rundgren, the Monkees’ Mickey Dolenz, Badfinger’s Joey Molland and several other name musicians of a certain vintage are teaming up to go out [...]

  • Rob Cowan, Greg Silverman'The Conjuring 2'

    Greg Silverman’s Stampede, School of Rock Team for Unscripted Series (EXCLUSIVE)

    Former president of Warner Bros. Pictures Greg Silverman is partnering with School of Rock through his content creation company Stampede. The collaboration with the music school will create exclusive content, starting with the development of an unscripted series.  School of Rock operates a network of performance-based education franchises that offer students of all ages guidance [...]

  • 'Downton Abbey' Music Gets 'Bigger, Better,

    As 'Downton Abbey' Hits the Silver Screen, the Music, Too, Gets 'Bigger, Better, Grander'

    When “Downton Abbey” fans hear that familiar strings-and-piano theme, a Pavlovian response ensues: Get to the television immediately, because you don’t want to miss a minute of the addictive Crawley family melodrama to follow. This week, with the “Downton Abbey” movie reaching theaters on Friday, fans can’t wait for their fix of Lady Mary and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content