The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers will present Craig Armstrong with its prestigious Henry Mancini Award at its 31st annual Screen Music Awards on March 24.

The awards ceremony — formerly known as the ASCAP Film & TV Awards — recognizes composers and songwriters from the past year’s top films, television shows and video games.

Armstrong, best known for his work with director Baz Luhrmann, resulting in his Golden Globe-winning score for “Moulin Rouge!” and Grammy-nominated score in “The Great Gatsby,” is being recognized for his music contributions to film, television and visual media.

“There is nothing that Craig Armstrong can’t do,” said ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams in a statement. “His work gleefully ignores genre distinctions, and he has expanded our understanding of what music can mean for a film, opera or theater production. We never know what to expect next from Craig’s restless imagination.”

Past Henry Mancini Award recipients include Angelo Badalamenti, Carter Burwell, John Debney, James Newton Howard, Mark Isham, Quincy Jones, Michel Legrand, Randy Newman, Howard Shore and Hans Zimmer.

During the ceremony, ASCAP will also bestow its Composers’ Choice Awards, which will be presented in categories including Film Score of the Year, TV Composer of the Year and Video Game Score of the Year.

The 31st annual Screen Music Awards will be held at the Beverly Hilton on March 24.