You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Craig Armstrong Honored With Career Tribute by ASCAP

At a newly stripped-down American Society for Composers, Authors and Publishers Screen Music Awards, its 31st annual, at the Beverly Hilton’s International Ballroom on Thursday night, Craig Armstrong gave a soft-spoken expression of appreciation as recipient of the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award, a career laurel previously bestowed on such movie maestros as Angelo Badalamenti, Michel Legrand, Ennio Morricone and Elmer Bernstein.

Director Oliver Stone, who has collaborated with Armstrong on “Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps” and the upcoming “Snowden,” presented the award to Armstrong, proving even more soft-spoken than the composer, who credited the directors he worked with as inspiration.

One of those directors is Baz Luhrmann, whose films “The Great Gatsby” and “Moulin Rouge!” benefitted from Armstrong’s emotionally rich underscore, and who expressed his appreciation via videotape.

The Armstrong tribute, which included poignant interpretations of Armstrong’s music for “Gatsby” and “Love Actually” by the Calder Quartet, was preceded by an equally moving paean to James Horner, the Oscar-winning composer behind such films as “Titanic” and “Braveheart” who died last June.

Morricone, who just won the Oscar last month for his original music for “The Hateful Eight,” was also honored by ASCAP for that same work as composer of the Film Score of the Year, while Bear McCreary (“Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD,” “The Walking Dead”) won his second ASCAP TV Composer of the Year laurel. In addition, Austin Wintory picked up his second consecutive Video Game Score of the Year trophy for his work on “Assassin’s Creed Syndicate.”

Overall, a total of 138 awards were presented for the most performed music on television, film and video games for the year (hence the change in the kudofest’s title to the all-encompassing “Screen Music Awards”), most of them behind the scenes, taking a cue from the Grammys, and perhaps influenced by another performing rights organization with the briefest of awards ceremonies, SESAC. Instead of the usual cattle call to the stage as in years past, with the honorees pausing for a photo op with ASCAP brass, this show concentrated on the most high-profile categories presented in a more competitive-seeming format, with more live entertainment and less flash-bulb pauses in the action. In a way, the ritual managed to camouflage, however intermittently, citations measured in commercial success.

These honors included the Top Box Office Films kudo to Michael Giacchino (“Jurassic World”); the Most Performed Themes & Underscore award to David Vanacore (“The Apprentice,” “Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader”); the Top Network Series citation to producer Timbaland (“Empire”), his first ASCAP honor; Top Cable Series honors for James Levine (“Rizzoli & Isles”) and the Top Streaming Series award to Scott Doherty and Brandon Jay (“Orange Is the New Black”).

More Music

  • Rob Thomas during the Chip Tooth

    Rob Thomas, INXS' Andrew Farriss Honor Late Michael Hutchence With Surprise Duet

    More than two decades since INXS frontman Michael Hutchence died, beloved ballad  “Never Tear Us Apart” is still being heard in venues throughout Australia and as recently as Saturday night (Nov. 16), when Matchbox Twenty singer Rob Thomas brought out INXS’ Andrew Farriss to the stage. The two led a poignant 9,000-person singalong at Bimbadgen [...]

  • SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE -- "Harry Styles"

    Harry Styles Premieres New Song, Plays Trash-Eating Dog on ‘Saturday Night Live’ (Watch)

    The past couple of seasons of “Saturday Night Live” have seen some impressive hosting/musical performer double-duty stints, including Childish Gambino, Halsey and Chance the Rapper — and last night Harry Styles was more than up to the challenge. The singer appeared in nearly every skit — including turns as a naïve office intern, a gangster, [...]

  • Bruce Springsteen

    Bruce Springsteen Stuns Fans With Two-Hour Set at Jersey Shore Club Stone Pony (Watch)

    Bruce Springsteen stunned attendees at the Stone Pony in Asbury Park, New Jersey Saturday night with a two-hour performance at a private event benefiting Boston College. The lucky 400 attendees for the invite-only event got a 22-song set that included hits from his albums “Born in the USA,” “Born to Run,” “Greetings from Asbury Park,” [...]

  • Elizabeth Warren Taylor Swift

    Elizabeth Warren Backs Taylor Swift in Big Machine Battle, Slams Private Equity Firms

    Taylor Swift’s battle with Big Machine has spilled into the political arena. Democratic presidential candidate Elizabeth Warren retweeted Swift’s Thursday message about her former record label preventing her from performing her old hits at the American Music Awards, adding that Swift is “one of many whose work as been threatened by a private equity firm.” [...]

  • Cynthia Erivo

    Cynthia Erivo Almost Gave Up Singing to Become a Spinal Surgeon

    Before Cynthia Erivo went on to become a Tony and Grammy winner, she nearly gave up singing to be a spinal surgeon. In her “Variety Studio: Actors on Actors” conversation with Alfre Woodard, the “Harriet” star said she had been singing since she was toddler. Her mother noticed she’d hum while eating her food when [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content