You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

2016 Obie Awards: ‘The Humans,’ ‘Eclipsed’ Score; ‘Guards at the Taj’ Wins Play Prize (FULL LIST)

Tony Awards nominees “The Humans” and “Eclipsed” both scored trophies at the Off Broadway-centric Obie Awards, which gave its top playwriting prize to Rajiv Joseph’s “Guards at the Taj.”

“Guards” won for new American play, while its two lead actors, Omar Metwally and Arian Moayed, earned a performance award. The title also was one of the big winners at the 2016 Lucille Lortel Awards.

Other Obies for playwriting went to Stephen Karam, whose “The Humans” (pictured above) played Off Broadway prior to its Tony-nominated Broadway run, as well as to Lucas Hnath (“The Christians,” “Red Speedo”) and to the creators of buzzy musical “Dear Evan Hansen” (Steven Levenson, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul).

Among the acting award winners were Tony nominee Lupita Nyong’o and the entire cast of “Eclipsed” (which, like “The Humans,” also originated Off Broadway before moving to Broadway), “Dear Evan Hansen” lead Ben Platt and Tony-nominated “Humans” cast member Jayne Houdyshell.

Founded by the Village Voice and now co-presented by the American Theater Wing (which also co-produces the Tony Awards), the 61st annual Obies were handed out May 23 at downtown venue Webster Hall.

Popular on Variety

The full list of 2016 Obies Awards follows:


Lucas Hnath, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons) and Red Speedo (New York

Theatre Workshop)

Stephen Karam, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Musical Theater

Steven Levenson (book), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (music & lyrics), Dear Evan

Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)


Rachel Chavkin, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Michael Leibenluft, I’ll Never Love Again (Bushwick Starr)


Khris Davis, The Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Emily Donahoe, The Christians (Playwrights Horizons)

Georgia Engel, John (Signature Theatre Company)

Ensemble, Eclipsed (The Public Theater): Pascale Armand, Akosua Busia, Zainab Jah, Lupita Nyong’o, Saycon Sengbloh

Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Omar Metwally and Arian Moayed, Guards at the Taj (Atlantic Theater Company)

Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)

Lucas Caleb Rooney, Red Speedo (New York Theatre Workshop)

Tamara Tunie, Familiar (Playwrights Horizons)


Rachel Hauck, Sustained Excellence of Set Design

Jason Lyons, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

James Ortiz, Puppet Design, The Woodsman (New World Stages)

Bray Poor, Sustained Excellence of Sound Design

Kaye Voyce, Sustained Excellence of Costume Design


Annie Baker (playwright), Sam Gold (director), and the design team of John

(Signature Theatre Company): Mark Barton (lighting), Ásta Bennie Hostetter (costumes), Mimi Lien (set), Noah Mease (props), Bray Poor (sound)

Dominique Morisseau (playwright) and Ruben Santiago-Hudson (director), Skeleton

Crew (Atlantic Theater Company)

OBIE GRANTS ($4,000 prize to each theater)

Bedlam Theatre

Noor Theatre

Prospect Theatre Company


NAATCO/National Asian American Theatre Company


Guards at the Taj by Rajiv Joseph (Atlantic Theatre Company)


Carmen de Lavallade

A.R. Gurney


More Legit

  • Greater Clements review

    'Greater Clements': Theater Review

    The American Dream and all of its values have taken quite a beating lately. Director and screenwriter Noah Baumbach’s “Marriage Story,” Bruce Springsteen’s recent “Western Stars” album, even Ralph Lauren in the documentary “Very Ralph” show us how this country and all of its totems and merits have gone asunder. No dreams are more crushed, [...]

  • Harry Connick Jr Walk of Fame

    Harry Connick Jr. on Returning to Broadway

    Harry Connick Jr. is headed back to Broadway with a three-week limited engagement celebration of legendary songwriter Cole Porter. The actor and musician came up with the concept for the show and is also directing. “I love Broadway and if I had two careers one of them would be only Broadway just because I love [...]

  • Jagged Little Pill review

    Broadway Review: 'Jagged Little Pill'

    Nearly 25 years after “Jagged Little Pill” hit the shelves of record stores, Alanis Morissette’s innovative 1995 album has arrived on Broadway under the muscular direction of Diane Paulus, who launched this galvanic production at the American Repertory Theater. The show’s supportive book by screenwriter Diablo Cody interprets Morissette’s musical idiom as a universal domestic [...]

  • Claire Warden

    Listen: Let's Talk About Sex Onstage

    The craft of intimacy direction is taking Broadway by storm — and on the latest episode of Variety’s Stagecraft, Broadway’s first intimacy director explains why, and breaks down the ways in which she’s helping to revolutionize how actors get intimate onstage. Listen to this week’s podcast below: Warden, whose credits this season include “Jagged Little [...]

  • Dan Stevens

    Mark Addy, Dan Stevens Head Broadway Cast of 'Hangmen'

    Mark Addy and Dan Stevens will appear in the Broadway premiere of Martin McDonagh’s “Hangmen.” Addy, best known for his work on “Game of Thrones” and “The Full Monty,” starred in the off-Broadway production of the black comedy. It’s the first time Stevens, beloved for his turn on “Downton Abbey,” has appeared on the Great [...]

  • Dear Evan Hansen Jordan Fisher

    Jordan Fisher Joins 'Dear Evan Hansen' in Title Role on Broadway

    Jordan Fisher will be Broadway’s next Evan Hansen, joining the cast of “Dear Evan Hansen” in the musical’s title role. Fisher, best known to theater enthusiasts for his stint in “Hamilton” and playing Mark Cohen in Fox’s “Rent: Live,” will play the role for a limited 16-week engagement starting Jan. 28. “Evan Hansen is a [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content