Star Wars: the Force Awakens” may be journeying to brand new galaxies at the box office, but it had a more Earthbound showing at the 2016 Oscar nominations Thursday. The seventh “Star Wars” movie was snubbed in the Best Picture category and director J.J. Abrams was also ignored, and though it brought in five nominations, none were in the major categories.

That level of recognition would be a big win for many films, but not for one that has dominated the media and the box office for the past month. “The Force Awakens” became the biggest U.S. box office release of all time. Worldwide, it has grossed an otherworldly $1.76 billion, less than one month after its release by Disney.

“Avatar,” the highest-grossing film of all-time, scored 9 nominations in comparison, including best picture and directing nods for James Cameron’s 3D marvel.

“Star Wars” was nominated in the following categories:

— Film Editing for Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

— Original Score for John Williams

— Sound Editing for Matthew Wood and David Acord

— Sound Mixing for Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

— Visual Effects for Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

Five-time Academy Award-winner John Williams scored his 50th career nomination for “The Force Awakens,” an all-time Oscar record.

Of the seven “Star Wars” movies, only the original received a Best Picture nomination in 1977. The Academy nominated eight films for Best Picture this year, with “Star Wars” and “Carol” the two most acclaimed films that failed to make the list.

See the full list of Oscar nominees.