You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Speechless’ Big Winner as Media Access Awards Salute People With Disabilities

People with disabilities — aka the world’s invisible minority — were saluted Friday at the annual Media Access Awards, with producer John Murray reminding that their presence onscreen is not just appropriate, “it’s also good business.”

Murray (“The Real World,” “Keeping Up With the Kardashians”) was given the PGA George Sunga Award, one of seven prizes handed out at the Four Seasons in Beverly Hills. Murray said that people with disabilities, or PWD, “have been placed on the margins and sidelines of TV.” He pointed out that his A&E reality-show “Born This Way,” about seven individuals with Down syndrome, increased viewership more than 80% during its first season, so depiction “is not only the right thing to do, it’s also good business.”

Scott Silveri, creator-writer of ABC’s “Speechless,” was a double winner. He and fellow producers Melvin Mar and Jake Kasdan were honored for series with the SAG-AFTRA Disability Awareness Award, while Silveri himself also took home the WGAW Evan Somers Memorial Award.

“We weren’t looking to do anything revolutionary, we were just looking to tell a story,” Silveri said. He thanked the educators and advocacy-rights champions who have been fighting for years to open the doors “that we were able to walk through.”

Danny Woodburn was given  the Media Access Norman Lear-Geri Jewell Lifetime Achievement Award, for his advocacy as well as his career. (Presenter Mark Povinelli dryly described Woodburn as “an icon of dwarf television.”)

Woodburn also doubled as emcee of the event. Speaking of President-elect Donald Trump, Woodburn said “He mocked us!” And that mockery, he predicted “will really get us moving.”

The Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation Scholarship went to MacGregor Arney, which is always given to an upcoming young actor. Presenting the award, Zach Weinstein said he became a father for the first time only 13 days ago, and he’s happy to know that his son will grow up in a world “where disability is going to be normalized.”

Casting director Susie Farris was given the CSA Award, for her work on “Mr. Robot” and “Speechless,” among others.

Actress Jamie Brewer of “American Horror Story” received the SAG-AFTRA Harold Russell Award, earning her the only standing ovation of the day. Brewer, who has Down syndrome, gave an emotional speech, talking about the opportunity of “finding our true selves within our work.”

The event was organized by SAG-AFTRA, the Producers Guild of America, Writers Guild of America and the Casting Society of America; the event is intended to honor individuals and to raise industry awareness.

The co-chairs of the event were Deb Calla and Alan Rucker. Among those in attendance were J.K. Simmons, Geri Jewell, Margaret Nagle, Micah Fowler, Kyla Kenedy, Mason Cook, Cedric Yarbrough, Katie Leclerc, Chad Coleman and Drew Tappon.


More TV

  • Jeremy Sisto, Ebonee Noel, Dick Wolf,

    Dick Wolf Plots 'First-Ever' Cross-Network Crossover

    Veteran television producer Dick Wolf, best known for creating the “Law & Order” franchise, is eyeing what he believes will be the first-ever cross-network crossover. The crossover would be between his CBS freshman procedural “FBI” or its in-the-works spinoff “FBI: Most Wanted” and one of his NBC shows, such as “Law & Order: Special Victims [...]

  • Prince Albert II of Monaco (C),

    Jessica Alba, Gabrielle Union's 'L.A.’s Finest' Opens Monte Carlo TV Festival

    Prince Albert II of Monaco opened the 59th Monte Carlo Television Festival on Friday at a glittering ceremony at the principality’s Grimaldi Forum attended by Gabrielle Union and Jessica Alba. The Hollywood actresses presented the French premiere of their action cop series “L.A.’s Finest,” which has just been renewed for a second season. “You typically [...]

  • Gabrielle Union and Jessica Alba'L.A.'s Finest'

    Jessica Alba, Gabrielle Union Speak About Horrific 'L.A.’s Finest' On-Set Accident

    Actresses Gabrielle Union and Jessica Alba spoke about how the horrific accident on the set of their action cop series “L.A.’s Finest” affected them and the crew at the 59th Monte Carlo Television Festival Saturday. They also paid tribute to the main victim of the incident, executive producer/co-showrunner Brandon Sonnier, whose leg was amputated below [...]

  • Emmys: How a Social Media Campaign

    How a Social Media Campaign to Game the Emmys Led to This Week's 'Block Voting' Scandal

    The Television Academy’s “block voting” controversy has quickly become the talk of Emmy season — and that appears to have been the org’s point. According to multiple insiders, the number of people disqualified from voting in this year’s competition is believed to be small, only around three members (out of nearly 25,000 members overall). But [...]

  • No Merchandising. Editorial Use Only. No

    TV News Roundup: Hulu Drops Trailer for 'Veronica Mars' Revival (Watch)

    In today’s roundup, Hulu dropped the official trailer for the “Veronica Mars” revival and HBO revealed more cast members for “Lovecraft Country.” FIRST LOOKS Hulu has dropped the official trailer for its revival of “Veronica Mars,” set to premiere on July 26. The series will bring back most of the original cast, including Kristen Bell, Jason [...]

  • Dan Stevens

    'Legion' Star Dan Stevens Says His Character Would Fight Thanos, 'Wreak Havoc' in MCU

    Dan Stevens said his powerful, telepathic mutant Legion would do some serious damage if he ever crossed over from the eponymous FX series into the Marvel Cinematic Universe. “Legion would wreak havoc. He’d probably take on Thanos, let’s see that,” he told Variety on the red carpet at the premiere of the trippy, mind-bending superhero series [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content