The National Board of Review will host its annual film-awards gala on Wednesday, Jan. 4, 2017, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. Willie Geist has been confirmed to return as host.

The organization’s announcement on Monday said winners “will be announced later this year, exact date TBD.”

Last year, the group unveiled its honorees on Dec. 1. NBR is always one of the first to announce year-end awards; for the past few years, it has jockeyed with the New York Film Critics Circle to see which will be first. Generally the group gives the dates for both its winners announcement and its ceremony at the same time.

NBR last year named “Mad Max: Fury Road” as its top film. The selection raised a few eyebrows since it was not considered a traditional awards film, but NBR’s choice proved prophetic: The George Miller-directed film gained a lot of other kudos attention, and wound up with six Oscars.

“The NBR is thrilled to welcome Willie back to our annual celebration,” said NBR president Annie Schulhof in Monday’s announcement. “He has truly become a part of the NBR family as has Cipriani 42nd Street, our home for more than decade. We look forward to an exciting evening honoring the exceptional films being released this year.”

NBR salutes films in multiple categories including best picture, director, performances, ensemble, breakthrough performances, directorial debut and Spotlight Award as well as signature honors such as the William K. Everson Award for Film History, Freedom of Expression, and Special Achievement in Filmmaking.

The NBR was founded 107 years ago, dedicated to spotlighting films as both art and entertainment. The selections are made by a group of “film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals, academics, and students,” according to the group.

Aside from top film, the annual announcement includes nine runners-up.