You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Canadian Media Producers Association Announces 2016 Winners of Producer Awards

Canadian Media Producers Association Announce 2016
Courtesy of Canadian Media Producers Association

Roger Frappier has won the Canadian Media Producers Association’s 2016 Established Producer Award for his distinguished career as an independent feature producer, it was announced Thursday at a reception at the Toronto International Film Festival’s industry lounge.

A jury chaired by producer Robert Lantos, last year’s winner, selected Frappier from a list of eight nominees; the award comes with a C$10,000 cash prize.

Frappier’s lengthy list of producer credits includes notable films such as Denys Arcand’s “The Decline of the American Empire” and Denis Villeneuve’s “Maelstrom.” His most recent film, Kim Nguyen’s “Two Lovers and a Bear,” starring Tatiana Maslany and Dane DeHaan, bowed in Berlin and screens in Toronto’s Special Presentations.

Hany Ouichou was presented with the CMPA’s inaugural Emerging Producer Award, which comes with a C$5,000 cash prize. The new award was launched to recognize the association’s commitment to nurturing the development of new talent.

Ouichou has two features unspooling in Toronto this week: Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie’s 183-minute fictional tale of a young terrorist group “Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves,” world-premieres in the Platform competish, and Vincent Biron’s sinister teen romp “Prank” screens in Discovery.