Screenwriter John August (“Big Fish,” “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”) has been named the recipient of the Writers Guild of America West’s Valentine Davies Award.

The honor has been given in recognition of his humanitarian efforts, civic service and his role in fostering a community of writers. August will be honored at the Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 13 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“John is the writer we’d all want to be: wildly intelligent, deeply practical, effortlessly inventive, and generous to a fault,” said WGA West President Howard A. Rodman.

“Whether he’s creating apps, campaigning for marriage equality, mentoring younger writers, podcasting with Craig Mazin, sitting on our Negotiating Committee, or constructing a school in Malawi, John has made service to the larger community a part of his second nature. Protip: when you find yourself in difficult straits, ask yourself ‘What would John August do?’ The times you’ll regret are the times you fail to act accordingly.”

August first launched his own screenwriting blog, johnaugust.com, in 2003. He has since written over 1,500 columns. He also maintains a website of interest to budding screenwriters, screenwriting.io., and co-hosts the Scriptnotes weekly podcast with Craig Mazin.

August also founded his own tech company, Quote-Unquote Apps, which creates an array of  screenwriter-centric apps, including Highland and Weekend Read. He also developed and created the Writer Emergency Pack, which will be in more than 2,000 classrooms this fall.

August frequently serves as an advisor and mentor at the Sundance Screenwriting Lab and works with Fomo Malawi, a charity organization that cares for over 4,000 orphans.

August’s writing credits include “Go,” “Charlie’s Angels,” “Frankenweenie,” “Dark Shadows” and “Titan A.E.” He directed “The Nines” and co-created the TV drama series “D.C.” with Dick Wolf, which he co-executive produced.

August also adapted his own screenplay to pen the book for the 2013 Broadway musical production of “Big Fish.”

Past Valentine Davies recipients include Phil Alden Robinson, Norman Lear, Neal Baer, Larry Gelbart, Tom Schulman, Carl Reiner, Susannah Grant, Phil Rosenthal, Sam Simon and, most recently, Ben Affleck.