Asa Butterfield and Alex Wolff are starring in Superlative Film’s coming-of-age drama “The House of Tomorrow,” based on Peter Bognanni’s novel.

Ellen Burstyn, Nick Offerman, Maude Apatow and Michaela Watkins also star in the movie, which marks Peter Livolsi’s directorial debut. Filming is currently underway in Minnesota.

The pic is being produced by Tarik Karam and Superlative Films’ Danielle Renfrew Behrens, in association with Water’s End Productions. Executive producers include Burstyn, Offerman and Tom Dolby.

“The House of Tomorrow” tells the story of futurist, architect and inventor R. Buckminster Fuller through two teens hoping to get laid, become punk gods and survive high school. The novel, published in 2011, is set in Iowa, where a teenage boy lives in a geodesic dome with his eccentric grandmother, who has spent the last 11 years homeschooling him on the teachings of Fuller. When his grandmother has a stroke, he’s forced to leave the dome and discover what it means to live a normal life.

Livolsi participated in this year’s Sundance Screenwriters Lab and the project was a recipient of the Tribeca Film Institute Sloan Grant.

“Peter Bognanni’s book is full of great characters, not the least of which is Buckminster Fuller, a man whose ideas are so spectacular they seem like fiction,” Livolsi said. “He did things his own way just like the punk heroes the boys in our story aspire to become.”

Karam added, “Danielle and I are thrilled to have such an amazing cast to bring Peter’s funny and poignant script to life. We’re especially honored to have Ellen Burstyn’s support on screen and as a producer, because she was a long time friend of Buckminster Fuller’s.”

Butterfield will be seen next in STX’s “The Space Between Us” and Fox’s “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.” Wolff will appear in Lionsgate/CBS Films’ “Patriots Day,” playing Boston Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev.

Behrens launched Superlative Film in January and just wrapped the Harry Dean Stanton-starrer “Lucky,” which also features Ed Begley Jr., Ron Livingston, Tom Skerritt and David Lynch; as well as Sam Hoffman’s directorial debut, “Humor Me,” starring Elliott Gould and Jemaine Clement.

Butterfield is represented by Independent Talent and CAA; Wolff is represented by Untitled Entertainment and CAA; Burstyn is represented by MGMT Entertainment and ICM; Offerman is represented by UTA; Apatow is represented by UTA; Watkins is represented by Haven and UTA; and Livolsi is represented by Paradigm and Kaplan/Perrone.