The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences unveiled the official submissions of 85 countries for foreign-language Oscar consideration. That’s a record number for submissions. The previous record was 83 in 2014.

After screenings for voters, the Academy will announce a short list of nine foreign-language films in late December. The five nominees will be named Jan. 24, along with all the other Oscar nominations.

This year, Yemen is a first-time entrant.

The 2016 submissions are:

Albania, “Chromium,” Bujar Alimani, director
Algeria, “The Well,” Lotfi Bouchouchi, director
Argentina, “The Distinguished Citizen,” Mariano Cohn, Gastón Duprat, directors
Australia, “Tanna,” Bentley Dean, Martin Butler, directors
Austria, “Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe,” Maria Schrader, director
Bangladesh, “The Unnamed,” Tauquir Ahmed, director
Belgium, “The Ardennes,” Robin Pront, director
Bolivia, “Sealed Cargo,” Julia Vargas Weise, director
Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Death in Sarajevo,” Danis Tanovic, director
Brazil, “Little Secret,” David Schurmann, director
Bulgaria, “Losers,” Ivaylo Hristov, director
Cambodia, “Before the Fall,” Ian White, director
Canada, “It’s Only the End of the World,” Xavier Dolan, director
Chile, “Neruda,” Pablo Larraín, director
China, “Xuan Zang,” Huo Jianqi, director
Colombia, “Alias Maria,” José Luis Rugeles, director
Costa Rica, “About Us,” Hernán Jiménez, director
Croatia, “On the Other Side,” Zrinko Ogresta, director
Cuba, “The Companion,” Pavel Giroud, director
Czech Republic, “Lost in Munich,” Petr Zelenka, director
Denmark, “Land of Mine,” Martin Zandvliet, director
Dominican Republic, “Sugar Fields,” Fernando Báez, director
Ecuador, “Such Is Life in the Tropics,” Sebastián Cordero, director
Egypt, “Clash,” Mohamed Diab, director
Estonia, “Mother,” Kadri Kõusaar, director
Finland, “The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki,” Juho Kuosmanen, director
France, “Elle,” Paul Verhoeven, director
Georgia, “House of Others,” Rusudan Glurjidze, director
Germany, “Toni Erdmann,” Maren Ade, director
Greece, “Chevalier,” Athina Rachel Tsangari, director
Hong Kong, “Port of Call,” Philip Yung, director
Hungary, “Kills on Wheels,” Attila Till, director
Iceland, “Sparrows,” Rúnar Rúnarsson, director
India, “Interrogation,” Vetri Maaran, director
Indonesia, “Letters from Prague,” Angga Dwimas Sasongko, director
Iran, “The Salesman,” Asghar Farhadi, director
Iraq, “El Clásico,” Halkawt Mustafa, director
Israel, “Sand Storm,” Elite Zexer, director
Italy, “Fire at Sea,” Gianfranco Rosi, director
Japan, “Nagasaki: Memories of My Son,” Yoji Yamada, director
Jordan, “3000 Nights,” Mai Masri, director
Kazakhstan, “Amanat,” Satybaldy Narymbetov, director
Kosovo, “Home Sweet Home,” Faton Bajraktari, director
Kyrgyzstan, “A Father’s Will,” Bakyt Mukul, Dastan Zhapar Uulu, directors
Latvia, “Dawn,” Laila Pakalnina, director
Lebanon, “Very Big Shot,” Mir-Jean Bou Chaaya, director
Lithuania, “Seneca’s Day,” Kristijonas Vildziunas, director
Luxembourg, “Voices from Chernobyl,” Pol Cruchten, director
Macedonia, “The Liberation of Skopje,” Rade Šerbedžija, Danilo Šerbedžija, directors
Malaysia, “Beautiful Pain,” Tunku Mona Riza, director
Mexico, “Desierto,” Jonás Cuarón, director
Montenegro, “The Black Pin,” Ivan Marinović, director
Morocco, “A Mile in My Shoes,” Said Khallaf, director
Nepal, “The Black Hen,” Min Bahadur Bham, director
Netherlands, “Tonio,” Paula van der Oest, director
New Zealand, “A Flickering Truth,” Pietra Brettkelly, director
Norway, “The King’s Choice,” Erik Poppe, director
Pakistan, “Mah-e-Mir,” Anjum Shahzad, director
Palestine, “The Idol,” Hany Abu-Assad, director
Panama, “Salsipuedes,” Ricardo Aguilar Navarro, Manolito Rodríguez, directors
Peru, “Videophilia (and Other Viral Syndromes),” Juan Daniel F. Molero, director
Philippines, “Ma’ Rosa,” Brillante Ma Mendoza, director
Poland, “Afterimage,” Andrzej Wajda, director
Portugal, “Letters from War,” Ivo M. Ferreira, director
Romania, “Sieranevada,” Cristi Puiu, director
Russia, “Paradise,” Andrei Konchalovsky, director
Saudi Arabia, “Barakah Meets Barakah,” Mahmoud Sabbagh, director
Serbia, “Train Driver’s Diary,” Milos Radovic, director
Singapore, “Apprentice,” Boo Junfeng, director
Slovakia, “Eva Nová,” Marko Skop, director
Slovenia, “Houston, We Have a Problem!” Žiga Virc, director
South Africa, “Call Me Thief,” Daryne Joshua, director
South Korea, “The Age of Shadows,” Kim Jee-woon, director
Spain, “Julieta,” Pedro Almodóvar, director
Sweden, “A Man Called Ove,” Hannes Holm, director
Switzerland, “My Life as a Zucchini,” Claude Barras, director
Taiwan, “Hang in There, Kids!” Laha Mebow, director
Thailand, “Karma,” Kanittha Kwunyoo, director
Turkey, “Cold of Kalandar,” Mustafa Kara, director
Ukraine, “Ukrainian Sheriffs,” Roman Bondarchuk, director
United Kingdom, “Under the Shadow,” Babak Anvari, director
Uruguay, “Breadcrumbs,” Manane Rodríguez, director
Venezuela, “From Afar,” Lorenzo Vigas, director
Vietnam, “Yellow Flowers on the Green Grass,” Victor Vu, director
Yemen, “I Am Nojoom, Age 10 and Divorced,” Khadija Al-Salami, director

The 89th Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 26, 2017, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.