You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Naomie Harris to Receive Variety Award at British Independent Film Awards

Actress Naomie Harris, best known around the world for her role in the recent James Bond movies, will receive this year’s Variety Award at the British Independent Film Awards ceremony Dec. 4. The award recognizes a director, actor, writer or producer who has made a global impact and helped to focus the international spotlight on Britain.

Previous recipients of the award include Benedict Cumberbatch, Jude Law, Kenneth Branagh, Keira Knightley, Liam Neeson, Michael Caine, Daniel Craig, Helen Mirren and, last year, Kate Winslet.

Harris said: “I am touched and honored to be included alongside such an inspiring and talented group of filmmakers. Working in film has given me the chance to tell stories from around the world — and I’m incredibly proud to represent British film-making when doing so.”

Harris is best known to global audiences as Eve Moneypenny in Bond movies “Spectre” and “Skyfall” and as Tia Dalma in the “Pirates of the Caribbean” franchise. This year, she has received critical acclaim for her portrayal of a drug-addicted mother in awards contender “Moonlight,” and also appeared in “Our Kind of Traitor.” Harris will be seen next in “Collateral Beauty,” opposite Will Smith and fellow Variety Award winners Winslet, Knightley, and Mirren.

Other credits include “Miami Vice,” “28 Days Later,” “Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll,” and “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom.” Stage productions include “Frankenstein” with Benedict Cumberbatch, and TV roles include “White Teeth” and “Small Island.”

“Naomie is a versatile, intelligent actress who is making a huge impact internationally,” BIFA said in a statement.

The BIFA nominations will be announced Nov. 1. The ceremony will be held in London.

More Film

  • Aquaman 2018

    'Aquaman' Crosses $250 Million at Foreign Box Office

    Things are going swimmingly at the box office for “Aquaman” as the Warner Bros.’ superhero flick hits another major milestone overseas. James Wan’s take on the ruler of the seven seas just passed $250 million internationally, and a weekend haul of $126.4 million from 43 territories brings its foreign tally to $261.3 million. “Aquaman” — [...]

  • Mortal Engines

    'Mortal Engines' to Lose More Than $100 Million at Box Office

    “Mortal Engines,” a steampunk fantasy adventure, is also an epic flop. With a budget of just over $100 million and tens of millions in global marketing costs, executives at rival studios estimate that the movie will lose upwards of $100 million. Some even project that number could float to more than $125 million. “Mortal Engines” [...]

  • Thierry Frémaux, José Luis Rebordinos Honored

    Thierry Frémaux, José Luis Rebordinos Named Honorary Argentine Academy Members

    BUENOS AIRES — In a ceremony just before Friday’s prize announcements at Ventana Sur, Cannes chief Thierry Frémaux and José Luis Rebordinos, director of the San Sebastian Festival, were named honorary members of Argentina’s Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, in a new move for the Academy, out through by its new president, Bernardo [...]

  • Nona

    Film Review: 'Nona'

    Twenty years and 12 features down the line, it’s still hard to peg the directorial sensibility of Michael Polish, with or without the presence of brother Mark as frequent co-writer and actor. His output has been all over the place, from early Lynchian quirkfests to the very middle-of-the-road inspirational dramedy “The Astronaut Farmer,” not to [...]

  • Pawel Pawlikowski "Cold War"

    Pawel Pawlikowski's 'Cold War' Wins for Best Film, Director at European Film Awards

    “Cold War,” Pawel Pawlikowski’s black-and-white romance set in the 1950s, scooped the prizes for best film, director and screenplay at the 31st edition of the European Film Awards on Saturday. “Cold War” star Joanna Kulig also won the award for best actress. Marcello Fonte, the star of Matteo Garrone’s “Dogman,” won for best actor. Armando Iannucci’s [...]

  • The Favourite Bohemian Rapsody Star is

    The Best Movie Scenes of 2018

    When we think back on a movie that transported us, we often focus on a great scene — or maybe the greatest scene — in it. It’s natural. Those scenes are more than just defining. They can be the moment that lifts a movie into the stratosphere, that takes it to the higher reaches of [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content