Marília Rocha’s “Where I Grow Old,” Elisabeth Subrin’s “A Woman, a Part” and Pablo Lamar’s “La última tierra” are among the eight movies set to premiere and compete for the Hivos Tiger Awards at Rotterdam international film festival (IFFR).

The 45th edition’s competition lineup spans Brazil, Thailand, USA, Paraguay, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Rocha’s debut, “Where I Grow Old” centers around the friendship between two Portuguese young women who emigrate in Brazil. U.S. helmer Subrin’s feature debut, “A Woman, a Part” turns on an exhausted and workaholic middle-aged actress who abruptly quits her recurring TV role and goes to New York to reinvent herself. “La ultima tierra,” previously presented at the Cinefondation’s Atelier in Cannes, turns on an old couple living isolated on a hill.

The other pics set to compete are Fiona Tan’s hybrid fiction-docu depicting Europe in turmoil, “History’s Future,” Pieter-Jan De Pue’s docu on Afghan kids who dig out old Soviet mines, “The Land of the Enlightened” (pictured above), Prabda Yoon’s “Motel Mist,” Felipe Guerrero’s “Oscuro animal” about three women forced to flee their homes in a war-torn Colombia and Babak Jalali’s “Radio Dreams” depicting the encounter between Afghanistan’s first rock band and Metallica. Radio Dreams stars Metallica’s Lars Ulrich.

“We want to offer the most innovative, original and challenging works on the biggest platform possible, as well as honouring and celebrating these in the best possible way. This was the reason we decided to find a new form for the Hivos Tiger Awards Competition,” said festival director Bero Beyer. “Not only is the prize money higher, but from the upcoming festival, every day a new ‘Tiger’ will be put in the spotlight, with full attention for that film that day. All of the films selected are exceptional.”

Founded in 1995, the Hivos Tiger awards competition is dedicated to up-and-coming filmmakers. The top award comprises a 40.000 Euros cash prize that will be handed out to the director and producer of the winning movie. The festival will also give a Special Jury nod worth 10,000 Euros for the artistic achievement of a movie playing in competition.

The Hivos Tiger’s jury will be made up of Dutch film critic Peter van Bueren, Tunisian thesp Hend Sabry, Thai director Anocha Suwichakornpong, Portuguese director Miguel Gomes and Vienna fest topper Hans Hurch.

Winners will be announced during the official awards ceremony on Feb.5.

IFFR will take place Jan. 27-Feb. 7.