Tobias Lindholm’s “A War,” Mads Matthiesen’s “The Model” and Rúnar Rúnarsson’s “Sparrows” (pictured above) are among the eight Nordic films set to compete for a Dragon Award.

Lindholm’s follow-up to the critically-acclaimed “Hijacking,” “A War” has been nominated for a foreign-language Oscar. Sold by Studiocanal, the pic stars Pilou Asbaek as Major Claus Michael Pedersen, a Danish company commander who is accused of war crime upon his return from Afghanistan.

Mads Matthiesen’s “The Model,” which is repped by TrustNordisk, follows a young model (Maria Palm) who struggles to break into Paris’ fashion scene and develops a dangerous obsession with a photographer. Pic is having its world premiere at Rotterdam.

Sold by Versatile, “Sparrows” – winner of a San Sebastian Golden Seashel, fest’s top plaudit, and Les Arcs’ Crystal Arrow – follows a 16-year-old who has been living in Reykjavik with his mother and is sent back to live with his estranged father in an Icelandic fishing village. Runarsson’s previous pic, “Volcano,” bowed at Cannes Directors’ Fortnight in 2011.

Other Dragon Award nominees include Måns Månsson’s “The Yard,” which will open the festival, as well as Aleksi Salmenperä’s “The Mine” and Rune Denstad Langlo’s “Welcome to Norway!” All three pics will have their world premieres at the festival.

“Mansson is one of Sweden’s most talented directors and ‘The Yard’ will certainly be his breakthrough movie because it has a broader appeal than his previous films. It’s also based on a popular controversial Swedish novel,” Jonas Holmberg, Goteborg’s artistic director.

Martin Zandvliet’s “Land of Mine” and Hanna Sköld’s “Granny’s Dancing on the Table” will also compete for the Dragon nod.

The jury of the Dragon Award for Nordic films is made up of U.S. helmer Laurie Anderson, Swedish actress Saga Becker, Danish director Christian Braad Thomsen, Icelandic producer Sigurjón Kjartansson, Norwegian photographer Anna Myking and Sara Norberg, the exec director of Helsinki Film Festival.

The award comes with a cash prize of 1 million SEK ($120,000).