The American Film Institute has set the world premiere of Warren Beatty’s Howard Hughes dramedy “Rules Don’t Apply” as AFI Fest’s opening night film on Nov. 10 at the TCL Chinese Theatre in Hollywood.

Beatty produced and directed from his own script and stars in the film for New Regency and Fox, which is releasing “Rules Don’t Apply” on Nov. 23. The cast includes Alec Baldwin, Annette Bening, Candice Bergen, Steve Coogan, Ed Harris, Haley Bennett, Matthew Broderick, Dabney Coleman, Lily Collins, Alden Ehrenreich, Taissa Farmiga, Megan Hilty, Oliver Platt and Martin Sheen.

“Warren Beatty has charmed and challenged moviegoers from his first moment on screen, and his talents as an actor, director, writer and producer have always transcended trends,” said Bob Gazzale, AFI president and CEO. “AFI is honored to present the world premiere of his newest gift to America’s cultural legacy.”

The film — the first that Beatty has directed since 1998’s “Bulworth” — is a romantic comedy-drama set in 1958 Hollywood with Beatty portraying Hughes. Collins portrays an actress and Ehrenreich plays a driver with both working for Hughes — who forbids romance between his employees.

“Romantic entanglements, the youthful pursuit of success and an outlandish billionaire are brought to life by a remarkable ensemble cast,” said Jacqueline Lyanga, director of AFI Fest. “On Opening Night, the TCL Chinese Theatre, the quintessential temple of cinema in Hollywood, will shine a light on ‘Rules Don’t Apply.'”

Beatty’s movie is the first title unveiled for the 30th edition of AFI Fest, which lasts eight days until Nov. 17. Galas and other events will be held at the Chinese, the TCL Chinese 6 Theatres, the Egyptian Theatre and the Hollywood Roosevelt.

Besides Beatty, producers include Arnon Milchan, Brett Ratner, James Packer, Steve Bing, Ron Burkle, Frank Giustra, Steve Mnuchin, Sybil Robson Orr, Terry Semel, Jeffrey Soros, William D. Johnson, Christopher Woodrow, Molly Conners, Sarah E. Johnson and Jonathan McCoy.

Beatty has been nominated for 14 Academy Awards and won best director for “Reds.” He won Academy’s Irving Thalberg Award in 1999 and the AFI Life Achievement Award in 2008.