You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

SXSW: ‘The Arbalest,’ ‘Tower’ Win Top Film Prizes

AUSTIN, Texas — “The Arbalest,” Adam Pinney’s droll, puzzle-like tale of unrequited obsession starring Mike Brune as a famed 1970s toy inventor, won the grand jury prize for narrative features at the SXSW Film Festival on Tuesday.

The narrative jury, consisting of Lindsey Bahr, Richard Brody and Alonso Duralde, also handed acting awards to Andre Royo, who plays a wily ex-con in Josh Locy’s “Hunter Gatherer,” and to Lily Rabe, who stars as a high-school English teacher in Julia Hart’s “Miss Stevens.”

In the documentary competition, the grand jury prize went to Keith Maitland’s “Tower,” which uses interviews, archival footage and rotoscopic animation to reconstruct the sniper shootings that rocked the U. of Texas at Austin campus on Aug. 1, 1966. “Tower” also received the Louis Black “Lone Star” Award, given annually to a Texas-produced film, from a separate jury.

“It is the professional privilege of my life to spend my last four years in the company of some of the most brave and resilient people on this planet,” Maitland said, accepting the grand jury prize.

Popular on Variety

Documentary competition jurors David Edelstein, Jen Yamato and Stephanie Zacharek presented a special recognition for portrait documentary to “Accidental Courtesy: Daryl Davis, Race & America,” Matt Ornstein’s film about the eponymous musician and his controversial hobby of meeting and befriending KKK members.

“In an age when so much of our political dialogue is so coarse and so cynical … Daryl is endlessly optimistic and endlessly empathetic,” said producer Noah Ornstein.

A special jury recognition for cinematography was given to d.p. Lee Daniel for “The Seer,” Laura Dunn’s look at the endangerment of agrarian life as seen from the perspective of the poet-activist Wendell Berry.

The Gamechanger Award, presented to a female filmmaker, went to Sophie Goodhart for “My Blind Brother,” her love-triangle comedy starring Adam Scott, Nick Kroll and Jenny Slate. The Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship was given to Eileen Meyer, who edited the 2015 Gore Vidal-William F. Buckley documentary “Best of Enemies.”

The Tuesday night awards ceremony was hosted in lively fashion by director-comedian Mike Birbiglia, whose film “Don’t Think Twice” was warmly received in its world premiere in the festival’s Headliners section.

“It’s important to remember that art is not a competition,” Birbiglia said, kicking off the show. “But if it were, tonight we would be celebrating the winners.”

The 23rd annual SXSW Film Festival unspooled more than 140 feature films, including 89 world premieres, 12 North American premieres and eight U.S. premieres. Audience awards will be announced on Saturday.

The full list of winners:


Grand jury winner: “The Arbalest” (Adam Pinney)

Special jury recognition for best actor: Andre Royo, “Hunter Gatherer”

Special jury recognition for best actress: Lily Rabe, “Miss Stevens”


Grand jury winner: “Tower” (Keith Maitland)

Special jury recognition for portrait documentary: “Accidental Courtesy: Daryl Davis, Race & America” (Matt Ornstein)

Special jury recognition for cinematography: Lee Daniel, “The Seer”


Winner: “How Was Your Day?” (Damien O’Donnell)

Special jury recognition for acting: Jim Cummings, “Thunder Road”

Special jury recognition for writing: Jocelyn DeBoer and Dawn Luebbe, “Greener Grass”


Winner: “These C–ksucking Tears” (Dan Taberski)

Special jury recognition: Terri Timely, “Dollhouse”


Winner: “Manoman” (Simon Cartwright)

Special jury recognition: “Don’t Tell Mom” (Sawako Kabuki)


Winner: “Glove” (Alexa Lim Haas, Bernardo Britto)

Special jury recognition: “Pombo Loves You” (Steve Warne)


Winner: “Sober,” Childish Gambino (Hiro Murai)


Winner: “The Send-Off” (Ivete Lucas, Patrick Bresnan)

Special jury recognition for acting: Lindsay Pulsipher, “1985”


Winner: “Lady of Paint Creek” (Alexia Salingaros)

Special jury recognition: “The Archer Hadley Story” (Ben Root, Alex Trevino)


Winner: “Miss Me: The Artful Vandal” (MissMe)

Special jury recognition: “Night Stalker” (New Media)

Special jury recognition: “Eat My S–t” (Octavio Terol)


Winner: “Sunstone” (Aimee Duchamp)


Gamechanger Award: “My Blind Brother” (Sophie Goodhart)

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award: “Tower” (Keith Maitland)

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship: Eileen Meyer

More Film

  • Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese and

    Film News Roundup: Leonardo DiCaprio Presenting Robert De Niro SAG Life Achievement Award

    In today’s film news roundup, Leonardo DiCaprio will present Robert De Niro with his SAG Life Achievement Award, the Oliver Sacks documentary finds a home and UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television gets a new dean. AWARD PRESENTATION Leonardo DiCaprio has been selected to present Robert De Niro the SAG Life Achievement Award  at [...]


    ‘Karnawal,’ ‘Restless,’ ‘Summer White,’ ‘Firsts’ Win Big at Ventana Sur

    BUENOS AIRES  — With Ventana Sur now firing on multiple cylinders, featuring pix-in post or project competitions for not only art films but also genre pics and animation – two sectors embraced by young creators in Latin America – “Karnawal,” “Restless,” “Summer White” and  “Firsts” proved big winners among Ventana Sur’s arthouse and animation competitions, [...]

  • (center) George MacKay as Schofield in

    From "1917" to "Jojo Rabbit," Composers of Some of the Year's Top Scores Talk Shop

    “1917,” Thomas Newman The 20-year collaboration of director Sam Mendes and composer Thomas Newman has encompassed midlife crisis (“American Beauty”), crime in the Depression (“Road to Perdition”), the Gulf War (“Jarhead”), marriage in the 1950s (“Revolutionary Road”) and two James Bond adventures (“Skyfall,” “Spectre”). Now they’ve tackled World War I, with “1917,” but Mendes’ much-talked-about [...]

  • Billy Magnussen Aladdin

    'Aladdin' Spinoff With Billy Magnussen's Character in the Works for Disney Plus

    Disney is developing a spinoff of its live-action “Aladdin” with Billy Magnussen reprising his Prince Anders character. The unnamed project is in early development for the studio’s recently launched Disney Plus streaming service. Disney has hired Jordan Dunn and Michael Kvamme to write a script centered on the haughty Prince Anders, one of Princess Jasmine’s [...]

  • ROAD TRIP – In Disney and

    Disney Boasts a Bevy of Hopefuls for Oscar's Original Song Race

    When the Academy announces its shortlist for song nominations on Dec. 16, you can be certain that at least one Disney song will be on it and probably more. Disney songs have been nominated 33 times in the past 30 years, winning 12 of the gold statuettes. This year, the studio has at least four [...]

  • Innovative Scores Elevated the Year's Documentaries

    Innovative Scores Elevated the Year's Documentaries

    It’s next to impossible for a documentary score to be Oscar-nominated alongside the dozens of fictional narratives entered each year. But it did happen, just once: In 1975, composer Gerald Fried was nominated for his music for “Birds Do It, Bees Do It,” a documentary on the mating habits of animals. Fried, now 91, perhaps [...]

  • Ron Leibman, Jessica Walter'Mary Stuart' Play

    Ron Leibman, Tony-Winning Actor Known for 'Angels in America' and 'Friends,' Dies at 82

    Ron Leibman, an Emmy-winning actor who garnered a Tony for his work in Broadway’s “Angels in America” and played the father of Jennifer Aniston’s Rachel Green on “Friends,” died on Friday. He was 82. Robert Attermann, CEO of Abrams Artists Agency, confirmed the news to Variety. No further details were immediately available. Leibman, a native [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content