You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The San Francisco Film Society has selected “Spotlight” writer-director Tom McCarthy as the recipient of the 2016 Kanbar Award for excellence in storytelling.

The tribute, to be presented during the San Francisco Film Festival’s awards night on April 25, will acknowledge McCarthy’s “exceptional mastery” of character-driven plots that bring audiences along on the psychological journeys of his heroes and antiheroes.

He will also be honored at “An Evening With Tom McCarthy” on April 26 at BAMPFA in Berkeley. An onstage interview and a selection of clips from his screenwriting and directing career will be followed by a screening of 2003’s “The Station Agent.”

“‘Spotlight’ won Best Picture at the Academy Awards this past year for many reasons, but its precise script, filled with perfectly conceived characters, inarguably set the tone and provided the heart and soul of the film,” said Noah Cowan, executive director of the San Francisco Film Society.

“Spotlight” won the 2016 Oscars for best picture and best original screenplay, which McCarthy shared with Josh Singer.

McCarthy’s previous directorial efforts include “The Station Agent,” “The Visitor” and “Win Win,” starring Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan. McCarthy also co-wrote the animated feature “Up,” for which he received an Oscar nomination for best original screenplay.

As an actor, McCarthy made his screen debut in the 1992 film “Crossing the Bridge” and went on to appear in “Flags of Our Fathers,” “Syriana,” “Good Night, and Good Luck,” “Meet the Parents” and in the final season of HBO’s “The Wire.”

Previous recipients of the Kanbar Award are Paul Schrader (2015), Stephen Gaghan (2014), Eric Roth (2013), David Webb Peoples (2012), Frank Pierson (2011), James Schamus (2010), James Toback (2009), Robert Towne (2008), Peter Morgan (2007), Jean-Claude Carrière (2006) and Paul Haggis (2005).