You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Oscars: Hungary, Bosnia, Croatia Enter Films for Foreign-Language Contest

The national submissions for the foreign-language film category of the 89th Academy Awards are mounting up with Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Croatia among recent additions.

Hungary, which won the foreign-language film Oscar in February with “Son of Saul,” has entered “Kills on Wheels.” Attila Till’s darkly comic film, which made its international debut at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival in July, blends reality and fantasy in a tale of a paralyzed firefighter and his two wheel-chair bound friends who offer to serve as hit men for local gangsters.

Bosnia and Herzegovina has selected “Death in Sarajevo” as its entry. Danis Tanovic’s darkly satirical film premiered in the main competition section of the Berlin Film Festival, where it won the Grand Jury Prize. The action takes place at a hotel in Sarajevo as European leaders gather for the centenary of the assassination in the city of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, an event that sparked World War I. Meanwhile the hotel’s bosses struggle to keep the staff from striking as the money runs out. Tanovic’s “No Man’s Land” won the foreign-language Oscar in 2002.

Croatia has chosen the taught psychological thriller “On the Other Side” as its Oscar candidate. Zrinko Ogresta’s movie, which played in Berlin’s Panorama section, features a bravura performance by Ksenija Marinkovic as a middle-aged Zagreb nurse, Vesna. Her husband, a war criminal, turns up out the blue 20 years after abandoning her, and the pic seeks answers to two questions, according to Variety’s reviewer: Is forgiveness possible? And is it ever possible to escape one’s past?

Other countries in Central and Eastern Europe to submit Oscar entries include Georgia with Rusudan Glurjidze’s “House of Others,” which won the East of the West competition section at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival, and Romania with Cristi Puiu’s “Sieranevada,” which played in competition at the Cannes Film Festival.

Each country can submit one film for the foreign-language film category, with the Oct. 3 deadline fast approaching. The nominations are determined in two phases:

First, the Academy’s Phase One Foreign-Language Film Award Committee will screen the entries and vote. The group’s top six choices, as well as three additional films voted by the Foreign-Language Film Award Executive Committee, will constitute the shortlist of nine films.

Second, the Phase Two Foreign-Language Film Award Committee will screen the nine shortlisted films and vote to determine the category’s five nominees. The nominations will be revealed on Jan. 24 together with the other categories.

The final voting for the award will be restricted to Academy members who have viewed all five films nominated for the award. The Oscar ceremony takes place on Feb. 26.

More Film

  • Bob Berney

    Bob Berney to Leave Amazon Studios' Head of Marketing and Distribution Position

    Bob Berney, Amazon Studios’ head of marketing and distribution, is stepping down, Variety has confirmed. Berney was hired by Amazon in 2015 and recently reached the end of his four-year contract. His last day will be Friday. During his time at amazon, the film veteran oversaw a number of successful films including “Manchester by the [...]

  • NEW YORK, NY – JUNE, 24:

    LGBTQ Stars Honored at Variety’s Power of Pride Celebration

    New York City felt the full power of pride on Monday, as Variety celebrated its inaugural issue devoted to the annual recognition of LGBTQ people worldwide. At an intimate gathering at lower east side Manhattan hotel The Orchid, rooftop bar Mr. Purple hosted Variety’s cover stars and luminaries for cocktails and the unveiling of the [...]

  • Joel Silver Exits Silver Pictures

    Joel Silver Exits Silver Pictures

    Top Hollywood producer Joel Silver has exited his production company Silver Pictures, Variety has confirmed. “Joel Silver recently indicated that he intends to leave Silver Pictures and go out on his own,” Hal Sadoff, a former ICM Partners agent who joined Silver Pictures several years ago as CEO, said in a statement. “We are working [...]

  • Billy Eichner Power of Pride Variety

    Billy Eichner on Taylor Swift's 'Calm Down' Backlash

    When Taylor Swift released her “You Need to Calm Down” music video, it seemed like every member of the LGBTQ in Hollywood was included — except for Billy Eichner. “I’m still not gay enough for Taylor Swift — or too gay — I don’t know what it is,” Eichner joked at Variety’s Power of Pride [...]

  • Ewen Bremner as Alan McGee in

    Danny Boyle-Produced ‘Creation Stories’ Adds Jason Isaacs, Steven Berkoff

    Jason Isaacs, Steven Berkoff and a host of other new names have signed on for “Creation Stories,” the film being exec-produced by Danny Boyle about Creation Records co-founder Alan McGee. The producers also unveiled the first shots of Ewen Bremner (“Trainspotting”) as the music mogul. Production is underway on the Irvine Welsh-penned project, with “Lock, [...]

  • 'Annabelle Comes Home' Review: This Grab

    Film Review: 'Annabelle Comes Home'

    In a country that should probably think about renaming itself the American Entertainment State, fan culture now produces an obsessive level of pop scholasticism, one that can parse the rules and details of movies and TV shows as if they were fine points of law. In a review of a horror movie, I once called [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content