Missy Peregrym, Nick Bateman Honored by Canadian Academy in L.A.

The Academy of Canadians in Sports & Entertainment – Los Angeles (ACISE-LA) has announced the Maple of Excellence honorees for this year’s 2016 Golden Maple Awards.

Actress Missy Peregrym will receive the Maple of Excellence for Outstanding Acting Achievement. The “Rookie Blue” star was nominated for a Canadian Screen Award this year for the ABC series, which ran six seasons. Actor, martial artist, former model, and online celebrity Nick Bateman will receive the Maple of Excellence for Outstanding Social Media Achievement Award for his work in film, endorsements, and celebrity status on social media. Bateman starred in 2011 cult film ‘Hobo With a Shotgun” and has two films on deck: “Then There Was Light” and “Airplane Mode.” Bateman has 5 million followers on Instagram and 4 million “likes” on Facebook.

The Maple of Excellence honorees were chosen by the ACISE-LA committee for their outstanding accomplishments in representing Canada in the United States.  The honorees will be in attendance at the Golden Maple Awards on July 1 at the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Previously announced on May 16, the Golden Maple Award nominees are:

Best actress in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:

Amanda Crew, “Silicon Valley,” HBO

Britne Oldford, “Hunters,” Syfy

Emily Hampshire, “12 Monkeys,” Syfy

Emily Hampshire, “Schitt’s Creek,” PopTV

Erin Karpluk, “The Riftworld Chronicles,” Geek & Sundry

Laura Vandervoort, “Bitten,” Syfy

Lindy Booth, “The Librarians,” TNT

Natalie Brown, “The Strain,” FX

Best actor in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:

Ben Hollingsworth, “Code Black,” CBS

Brandon Jay McLaren, “Graceland,’ USA

Byron Mann, “Hell on Wheels,” AMC

Christopher Heyerdahl, “Hell on Wheels,” AMC

David Sutcliffe, “Proof,” TNT

Giacomo Gianniotti, “Grey’s Anatomy,” ABC

Jonathan Keltz, “Reign,” The CW

Ricky Mabe, “Gigi Does It,” IFC

Newcomer of the year in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:

Amanda Crew, “Silicon Valley,” HBO

Ennis Esmer, “Red Oaks,” Amazon Studios

Christopher Heyerdahl, “Hell on Wheels,” AMC

Giacomo Gianniotti, “Grey’s Anatomy,” ABC

Gregory Smith, “Rookie Blue,” ABC


More TV

  • Amazon Reveals Title, Judges of Heidi

    Amazon Reveals Title, Judges for Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn Fashion Series

    Amazon has revealed its upcoming fashion competition series, hosted by Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn, will be titled “Making The Cut.” The streamer also announced that the judges and guest judges for the series will include Naomi Campbell, Nicole Richie, Carine Roitfeld and Joseph Altuzarra. The series is set to premiere on Amazon Prime Video [...]

  • NRA TV

    NRA Scuttles Original Production for Streaming-Video Site

    The NRA will shut down production of new content for its streaming-video NRATV outlet, The New York Times reports. The report said the gun-rights lobbying organization may continue to run older content on the broadband outlet, but it will no longer feature Dana Loesch and other regular hosts in live programming. The demise of programming [...]

  • monty-python-are-fifty-in-2019

    Previously Unreleased Monty Python Audio to Get Airing for Troupe's 50th Anniversary

    Michael Palin will exec-produce series of radio specials containing never-before-released audio from Monty Python as part of the 50th anniversary celebrations for the iconic comedy troupe. They will play on the BBC in the U.K. and then go out in the U.S. Palin and his fellow Pythons – John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry [...]

  • TV News Hopes NBC's Democrat Debate

    TV News Hopes NBC's Democrat Debate Spurs More Than a Political Windfall

    NBC News is gearing up to cover two sprawling Democratic debates. But the trappings around them may remind viewers of another network staple: “Sunday Night Football.” NBCUniversal will televise debates among the Democratic candidates for U.S. presidency over two nights and across three different TV networks, as well as via host of digital venues, including [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content